LibGuides: GLHLTH 702K: Global Health Research: Design and Practice: Find Data

Working with Data @ Duke

Duke's Data and Visualization Services provides consulting services and instruction to support data-driven research.

Guides
Data Collections

Finding and Using Health Data

Questions to ask to help you identify health data/statistical sources:

Is there a government agency or organization that would collect your data?
Do you need very current or historical data?
What type of data do you need (demographic, health, vital)?
What level of data do you need (national, local)?

Health Statistics (NLM)
Tutorial from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) on understanding health statistics sources.

Global Health Data Exchange (IMHE)
Catalog of surveys, censuses, vital statistics, and other health-related data from the Institute of Health Metrics and Evaluation from the Univ. of Washington.
Global Health Observatory from WHO
WHO's portal for providing access to data and analyses for monitoring global health worldwide. It provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database.
Demographic & Health Surveys (USAID)
DHS is responsible for collecting and disseminating accurate, nationally representative data on health and population in developing countries.
Global Health Facts
A project of the Kaiser Family Foundation, this resource provides data by country on HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria and other key health and socio-economic indicators.
ICPSR
Social science data archive including datasets on health. Browse by topic or geography.
Millennium Development Goals (UN)
This site presents the official data, definitions, methodologies and sources for more than 60 indicators to measure progress towards the Millennium Development Goals.
United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) Human Development Reports
World Bank Development Indicators
Provides access to a wide range of economic, environment, health, political, and social indicators in roughly 200 countries. Time series data is available for many indicators from 1960 onwards. In addition to the wide range of global statistics, the WDI provides convenient data extraction tools that allow data access in Microsoft Excel and other statistical packages.
World Bank: Health, Nutrition, & Population Dashboards
Provides access to health-specific indicators for 200 countries.

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Search for articles and books published by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) since 1998

International Household Survey Network
Catalog of household surveys in countries around the world. This site does not contain the data in the surveys, but should provide enough information to track the survey back to its source.

NLM List of Data Sources
Extensive list of data sources & tools curated by the National Library of Medicine.
Health United States
Annual report on trends in health statistics from the CDC.
National Center for Health Statistics
Data and statistics from the Nation's principal health statistics agency.

International Data

Duke Libraries International Research
Browse pages curated by International & Area Studies librarians by region. Links for "Data sources" on each region page.

GLHLTH 702K: Global Health Research: Design and Practice: Find Data

Working with Data @ Duke

Finding and Using Health Data

Data Sources for Global Health

International Data

Contact Us

Services for...