Skip to Main Content

HISTORY 518S: Merchants, Coolies, Prostitutes: The Treaty Ports of Nineteenth Century East Asia: China

Chinese Newspapers

Databases

Other Visual Resources

  • Virtual Shanghai is part of the IAO-Databases Project and contains 4,000 images(mostly before 1949). The images contain basic metadata (often including a short description) and are searchable according to the following criteria: title/subject; date; estimated periods; location; action; caption on print; caption on support; support; author; nature; repository, and general keywords. The Live Map presents images of Shanghai onn a GIS map. 
  • Historical Photographs of China A joint project by School of Humanities, University of Bristol, UK & Institut d'Asie Orientale (IAO), Lyon, France. The archived collections include a Chinese diplomat, foreign businessmen, staff of the administrations in the Chinese treaty ports, missionaries, and officials of the Chinese Maritime Customs Service.
  • Bucklin China Archive - Looking at China in 1924 : In 1923, Harold Bucklin took his family Shanghai and produced an exquisite body of work of large format photographs of Pre-Revolutionary China using a Graflex camera.

Materials in Rubenstein

Sidney Gamble photographs, 1908-1932: finding aids, digital collection
The Sidney D. Gamble collection consists primarily of contact sheets, hand-colored glass slides, 35mm duplicate slides, contact prints, negatives, and other photographic formats documenting Gamble's four visits to China from 1908 to 1932. In total, there are over 5,000 unique images covering 12 provinces and Beijing, Chongqing, Tianjin and Shanghai.

Friedrich Carl Peetz photographs, 1900: finding aids, digital collection
The collection comprises a photograph album with 127 black-and-white photographs mounted on 22 boards.  Friedrich Carl Peetz, most likely an officer in the German Navy during the Boxer Rebellion. The images were mostly taken in Tsingtao (Qingdao), Chefoo (Yantai), Hong Kong, Peking (Beijing), and Shanhaiguan in 1900.

William Shockley photographs, 1897-1922: finding aids
Collection contains over 2200 black-and-white images taken by William Hillman Shockley during his world travels as a mining engineer between the years 1896 to 1909. It includes about 1300 images of China (including Manchuria); 350 images of Korea; 160 images of India; and 660 images of Russia (including Siberia).