LibGuides: GLHLTH 725K: Global Health and Migration: Global Burden of Disease

Definition

"A comprehensive demographic and epidemiological framework to estimate health gaps (q.v.) for an extensive set of disease and injury causes, and for major risk factors, using all available mortality and health data and methods to ensure internal consistency and comparability of estimates."

Lopez AD, Mathers CD, Ezzati M, et al., editors. Global Burden of Disease and Risk Factors. Washington (DC): World Bank; 2006. Glossary. Available from: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK11818/

GBD Studies

GBD
The Global Burden of Disease (GBD) is the most comprehensive effort to date which measures the impact of hundreds of diseases, injuries, and risk factors in 187 countries.
WHO Global Burden of Disease Project
WHO National Burden of Disease Manual
Global Burden of Disease:a comprehensive of mortality and disability...
First GBD study -- 1990, published 1996.
Global Burden of Disease: 2004 update
Global Burden of Disease and Risk Factors (eBook)
Extensive articles on measuring the global burden of disease and risk factors from 1990 to 2001.

Major Datasets for Burden of Disease

Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation: GBD
Interactive data visualizations using GBD data
WHO Global Observatory
The major World Health Organization database. Can search by theme e.g. "Global Burden of Disease," or by country. Includes maps on selected topics.
WHO World Health Report
WHO's annual report (most recent is 2010) focuses on a particular theme but always includes statistical annexes.
World Bank Data
Can search by country, topic (e.g. health), or indicator (e.g. mortality rate). All World Bank data is now freely available on the site.
WHO Global Burden of Disease
Summary death estimates for 2008 and Disability-Adjusted Life Year (DALY) estimates for 2004 by cause for WHO Member States.
Global Health Facts
A project of the Kaiser Family Foundation, this resource provides data by country on HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria and other key health and socio-economic indicators.
CDC State Health Statistics
Search morbidity (disability or poor health) and mortality tables for selected diseases.
FedStats
Search statistics from over 100 agencies by topic and geographical region. The site also includes links to the statistical agencies.
WHO Noncommunicable Diseases Country Profiles 2011

Essential Databases

Use these databases to find articles in the research literature about GBD concepts, or to find analyses of GBD at the national and subnational level or for specific diseases and conditions.

PubMed
PubMed is the premier resource for the biomedical journal literature. This version of PubMed contains links to Duke's full text journal subscriptions. There is no official MeSH (Medical Subject heading) for burden of disease. You can use "cost of illness," or add the phrase "disease burden" with your country or locality name.
Africa Index Medicus
A joint initiative between the World Health Organisation (WHO) and the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA) to store regionally-generated biomedical information.
Latin American and Caribbean Center on Health Sciences Information (LILACS)
A cooperative database of the VHL network that covers the health sciences literature published in the countries of Latin America and the Caribbean since 1982.
Index Medicus for the Eastern Mediterranean Region
Indexes the health and biomedical journals published in the Region since 1984.

Global Health This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on global health

Global Health Library
Search literature from several regional health indexes including AFRO (Africa), LILACS (Latin America and the Caribbean), and IMSEAR (Southeast Asia).
PAIS International
Indexes the social sciences with emphasis on contemporary worldwide social, economic, and political issues, and public policy. Covers journals, books, government publications, and directories.
Virtual Health Library
Search multiple general and specialized international health information indexes.

Country Background

Ministries of Health worldwide
Links compiled by the Geneva Foundation for Medical Education and Research.
World Health Organization-Countries
Information about WHO member countries.
UN Statistics Division: National Statistical Offices
A list of websites of national statistical offices.
CIA World Factbook
Provides information about the people, history, government, economy, geography, communications, and military of over 260 world entities (most are countries). An excellent source for comprehensive country info.
U.S. Department of State Country Background Notes
All recent (2010-2011) facts from the U.S. State Department about independent states, dependencies, and sovereign areas. Another good resource for country background info.

State/Local Background

CDC: State Health Departments
Provides links to state health department websites.
Kaiser State Health Facts
Provides demographic and health information, including health coverage and cost, for each state. You can browse by state or topic.
State Government Websites
A list of government websites for each state, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories and associated states.