LibGuides: AMES 234K: Shanghai: From Treaty Port to Global Metropolis: Getting Started

Online Reference Sources

Berkshire Encyclopedia of China by Mary Bagg (Editor)
ISBN: 9780977015948
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Brill's Encyclopedia of China Online
The Cambridge Companion to Modern Chinese Culture by Kam Louie (Editor)
ISBN: 9780521863223
Publication Date: 2008-06-05
Encyclopedia of Modern China by David Pong
ISBN: 9780684315713
Publication Date: 2009-08-01
Cambridge Histories Online: China

General Databases

Bibliography of Asian Studies
The core database for East, South and Southeast Asian Studies. Covers books and articles published from 1949 on. Not full-text.
Academic One File
11,000 journals with full-text articles
British Humanities Index
BHI is a current awareness tool that provides abstracts from over 400 daily newspapers, weekly magazines and academic journals.
ProQuest
Provides access to an extensive collection of journals, newspapers, and magazines. ProQuest includes several databases that may be searched together or individually.
JSTOR
A database of archived issues of academic journals. Articles are available as scanned versions of journal pages and typically appear 3-5 years after publication. For more recent articles, see Project Muse or the journal titles themselves.

Nanjing Road

http://smashalloldthings.blogspot.com/2012_10_01_archive.html

Searching Chinese Materials at Duke

Duke’s Chinese collection focuses on contemporary economics, politics and society, public policy and popular cultures and Buddhist and avant-garde art history. Search in Duke catalog to find Chinese language materials:

How to search the catalog with Pinyin?

In general, enter the Pinyin for each Chinese character with a space, such as Ying Han Da Ci Dian for 英漢大詞典. However, sometimes you need to join syllables, examples:

Personal Names	毛澤東無名氏惠能尼克森	Mao Zedong Wumingshi Huineng Nikesen
Place Names	揚子江廣州市安徽省廣西壯族自治區	Yangzi Jiang Guangzhou Shi Anhui Sheng Guangxi Zhuangzu Zizhiqu

How to search the catalog with Chinese characters?

Chinese searches entered as keywords retrieve records across Chinese, Japanese and Korean. Terms can be combined using Boolean operators; you can also combine terms in different languages -- Chinese characters, Japanese kana, Korean Hangul and English. Character adjacency is the default, so combining characters will produce results for the compound not the single characters.