LibGuides: GLHLTH 641K Non-Communicable Diseases in Low- and Middle-Income Countries: Trends, Causes, and Prevention Strategies: Finding Articles

Understanding Article Types

You may need to consult various databases depending on the topic and type of information you are seeking.

Here are some common article types used in global health research:

Article Types
1-page description of article types used in global health research.

Which database should I use?
A very helpful breakdown from the Univ. of Adelaide about choosing databases for health research.

Note: Click on to expand to full screen. Advance slides forward and backward with arrows.

How do I get to Google Scholar? http://scholar.google.com/

Find the full text of a specific article by using the library's Articles search.
Find specific journals by title (ex. Social Science & Medicine) using the Online Journal Titles page.
Find specific research databases (ex. Pubmed) using the Research Databases page.

Can't find the article? Request articles that Duke Kunshan/Duke do not own by using document delivery.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in biomedicine. Citations are from MEDLINE and other medical and life science journals

Become a PubMed power user by viewing the PubMed Tutorial.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Search peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.

Web of Science
Provides access to interdisciplinary research articles. Choose 'All Databases' to include search of MEDLINE. Allows you to trace the scholarship of an article using cited reference searching.
Google Scholar
A search engine for scholarly materials. Good for initial searching and grey literature. Lacks advanced features and quality control. Add DUKE UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES under SETTINGS > LIBRARY LINKS to get links to the full text in your GS results.

Global Health Database
Provides access to interdisciplinary research articles in global health. Includes unique materials (grey lit) not included in Pubmed, Web of Science, or Scopus.
China Online Journals: Health & Medicine 万方医疗卫生期刊
Full-text database of Chinese journals published in China after 1997 in Health & Medicine, some journals also include abstracts in English.

AGRICOLA: Online Public Access Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search for article abstracts from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. This is an open access database.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Search nursing and allied health literature dating back to the 1980s
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Search for systematic reviews of primary research in human health care and health policy
Embase This link opens in a new window
Search abstracts from EMBASE (1974-present) and Medline (1966-present)
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Searches for journal articles and books in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, and energy
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Search articles, government documents, and grey literature related to international politics and public policy
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in political science and public policy
PsycInfo (APA) This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology

African Index Medicus
A joint initiative between the World Health Organisation (WHO) and the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA) to store regionally-generated biomedical information.
Index Medicus for the Eastern Mediterranean Region
Indexes the health and biomedical journals published in the Region since 1984.

LILACS This link opens in a new window
Search for Latin American and Caribbean literature in the health sciences from 1982 to the present.
SciELO Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for articles published in open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. This is an open access database.

China Online Journals: Health & Medicine 万方医疗卫生期刊
Full-text database of Chinese journals published in China after 1997 in Health & Medicine, some journals also include abstracts in English.

Kaiser Daily Global Health Policy Report
Real-time reporting of news and events related to global health and policy worldwide.
Global Health Now (Johns Hopkins Univ.)
News and policy info on global health from Johns Hopkins University.
Global Health Frontline News
High-quality news coverage of under-reported stories on a wide range of global health issues.
Global Health Hub
Lancet Global Health Collection
Articles, comments, seminars and Reviews focusing on health in low-income and middle-income countries.
NPR Global Health
Audio and news stories about Global Health.
Global Health Policy Blog
Research and policy analysis news.
Nature News
Science News