LibGuides: GLHLTH 641K Non-Communicable Diseases in Low- and Middle-Income Countries: Trends, Causes, and Prevention Strategies: Getting Started

Welcome to the Research Guide for Your Course!

image: healthy lifestyle toolkit - www.ifrc.org

This course guide lists selected library resources that might be useful to you in researching your projects for your course at Duke Kunshan University.

If you don't find what you need here please contact one of your librarians!

Global Health Search Tips

Note: Click on to expand to full screen. Advance slides forward and backward with arrows.

Global Health Library Team at Duke

In addition to the librarians at Duke Kunshan, a team of librarians at Duke is also available to help you. If you need additional help, please contact one of the librarians for your area:

Megan von Isenburg, Medical Center Library
Hannah Rozear, Perkins Library
Joel Herndon, Data and GIS Services, Perkins Library

The Duke Medical Center Library (MCL) has a toolkit with links to resources:

Global Health Toolkit

Essential Electronic Resources

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in biomedicine. Citations are from MEDLINE and other medical and life science journals
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Search peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from scholarly journals in all areas of research
Embase This link opens in a new window
Search abstracts from EMBASE (1974-present) and Medline (1966-present)
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Search nursing and allied health literature dating back to the 1980s
PsycInfo (APA) This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Search for systematic reviews of primary research in human health care and health policy
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly literature from a range of disciplines; many articles available through Duke Libraries. Add Duke Libraries under 'Library Links' in your GS settings.
Global Health This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on global health

Global Health Observatory
Key statistics for global health research from the World Health Organization (WHO).
Global Health Library
WHO database for searching the literature of regional medical indices, including AIM (AFRO), LILACS (AMRO/PAHO), IMEMR (EMRO), IMSEAR (SEARO), WPRIM (WPRO).

Essential e-resources (China Specific)

China Online Journals: Health & Medicine 万方医疗卫生期刊
Full-text database of Chinese journals published in China after 1997 in Health & Medicine, some journals also include abstracts in English.
Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services(Chinese, traditional) 臺灣電子期刊服務網
This full text article database covers many of the journals published in Taiwan in humanities and social sciences. You may locate citation information from journals under Medical and Life Sciences and request Duke document delivery services for specific articles.
Duxiu (Chinese) 读秀
You are able to access more than 3 million digitized books published in P.R. China. Users can request the full text of selected book chapters using the interlibrary loan system embedded in the DuXiu scholar search engine (图书馆文献传递).
China Statistical Yearbooks Full-text Database (Chinese & English) 统计年鉴数据库
There are 630 titles, 3606 volumes of statistical yearbooks and 1353370 entries (including 940371 statistical charts) in the database. Among them, 中国卫生和计划生育统计年鉴 covers relevant statistics from 2003 to 2014.
China Data Online (Chinese & English)
Includes the economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories; monthly and yearly reports on China’s macroeconomic development; statistical databases about China’s population and economy at the county and city level; and financial indicators of more than 568 industrial branches.
Chinese Periodicals Index
Indexing titles of Chinese and Western language periodicals published in Taiwan, Hong Kong and Macau from 1994. & National Digital Library of Thesis and Dissertations in Taiwan 臺灣博碩士論文. You may request for Duke document delivery services for journal articles and set up a personal account and receive full access to some freely available dissertations.

Your Librarians

Linda Daniel

she/her/hers

Contact:

Duke University Libraries
233 Perkins Library
Email: linda.daniel@duke.edu
Phone: 919-660-5927

Subjects: Cultural Anthropology, Native American Studies, Social Sciences, Sports

Your Librarian

Helen Xu

Email Me

Contact:

AB 3217, Duke Kunshan University Library

(0512) 3665-7207

Document Delivery

Need an article from a journal we don't subscribe to? Don't give up hope--use Document Delivery/Interlibrary loan! We will find a library that has the material you need and request a scanned copy and email it to you. Create an account today!