LibGuides: GLHLTH 210K: Global Health Ethics: Finding Data

Working with Data @ Duke

Duke's Data and Visualization Services provides consulting services and instruction to support data-driven research.

Guides
Data Collections

Duke's Social Science Research Institute (SSRI) provides education and training on a wide range of social and behavioral science methods and tools.

Finding and Using Health Data

Questions to ask to help you identify health data/statistical sources:

Is there a government agency or organization that would collect your data?
Do you need very current or historical data?
What type of data do you need (demographic, health, vital)?
What level of data do you need (national, local)?

Health Statistics (NLM)
Tutorial from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) on understanding health statistics sources.

Data Sources for Global Health

Demographic & Health Surveys (USAID)
DHS is responsible for collecting and disseminating accurate, nationally representative data on health and population in developing countries.
Global Health Data Exchange (IMHE)
Catalog of surveys, censuses, vital statistics, and other health-related data from the Institute of Health Metrics and Evaluation from the Univ. of Washington.
Global Health Observatory from WHO
WHO's portal for providing access to data and analyses for monitoring global health worldwide. It provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database.
Global Health Facts
A project of the Kaiser Family Foundation, this resource provides data by country on HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria and other key health and socio-economic indicators.
World Bank Development Indicators
Provides access to a wide range of economic, environment, health, political, and social indicators in roughly 200 countries. Time series data is available for many indicators from 1960 onwards. In addition to the wide range of global statistics, the WDI provides convenient data extraction tools that allow data access in Microsoft Excel and other statistical packages.
International Household Survey Network
Catalog of household surveys in countries around the world. This site does not contain the data in the surveys, but should provide enough information to track the survey back to its source.
United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) Human Development Reports

NLM List of Data Sources
Extensive list of data sources & tools curated by the National Library of Medicine.
Health United States
Annual report on trends in health statistics from the CDC.
National Center for Health Statistics
Data and statistics from the Nation's principal health statistics agency.

Statistics on China can be found in English from different sources:

Statistical Surveys & Reports
- China Compendium of Statistics, 1949-2009
- China Compendium of Rural Statistics, 1949-1999 available from CSYD

Statistical databases
- China Data Online (bilingual):Economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories. China's population and economy at the county and city level, and financial indicators of more than 568 industrial branches. Census Data for 1982, 1990, 1995 and 2000. Statistical yearbooks at national, provincial and city level.
- China Statistical Yearbooks Full-text Database CSYD (Chinese & English)
  There are 630 titles, 3606 volumes of statistical yearbooks and 1353370 entries (including 940371 statistical charts) in the database.
- China Geo-Explorer: Offers China demographic and economic data, maps, charts and reports in the web-based delivery system
- Economist Intelligence Unit (English)
- LexisNexis Statistical (English)
- China Agricultural And Economic Data (English)
- ISI Emerging markets (English)
- International financial stats (English)
- Global Development Finance/GDF Online (English)
- OECD and IEA Statistics (English)
- UN comtrade (English)
- UNdata (English)
- World Development Indicators (WDI Online) English

Statistical Web Sites
- CIA - The World Factbook
- Penn World Table
- National Bureau of Statistics of China - The gateway to a dataset of many subcategories. Includes links to provincial statistical websites
- National Statistics, Taiwan
- Hong Kong Census and Statistics Department
- Macau Statistics and Census
- China Dimensions: Provided by the Consortium for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN), USA. Site includes: (1) Administrative Regions; (2) Fundamental Maps; (3) Population and Public Health; (4) Economics; (5) Public Policies; (6) Additional China Data. Primary resources. Data reside on FTP and need to be downloaded. Data are of 1990s.
- Urban China Research Network (University at Albany, SUNY, Albany, NY, USA) Primary resources. Data are generated by categories and can be exported to Excel. Most recent data are of 1999.
- 人口与劳动力数据库 - Primary dataset, including population and labor conditions. Can search by category, keyword, and other advanced features.
- 中国自然资源数据库 - Primary scientific dataset which include graphics and raw figures of water resources, land resources, energy resources agriculture resources etc. Hosted by Institute of Geographical Sciences and Natural Resources Research, Chinese Academy of Sciences.
- 外商在华投资政策和法规 - Policy and legal documents that regulate foreign investment in China. No data.
- 中国中小城市网 – Top 100 economic development index of small and media cities in 2004.
- 中华人民共和国国家统计局- National Bureau of Statistic of China. The gateway to dataset of many subcategories; includes links to provincial statistical websites.
- 中国人口信息网 – Population database.
- 省级与市级统计信息网 - Sub pages of National Bureau of Statistics of China. Links to statistical websites of provinces and cities, international organizations, foreign countries.