Skip to Main Content

WRITING 230SK: Writing Across Cultures. Music, Gender, Nationality: Creating and Expressing Identity Through Listening: Find Books

Research guide for Dr. Sarah Elaine Neill's DKU course, Fall 2015

Selected Books on Music, Identity, and Gender

Musicology and Difference - Gender and Sexuality in Music Scholarship by Ruth A. Solie (Editor)
ISBN: 0520079272
Publication Date: 1993-08-25
Text, Performance, and Gender in Chinese Literature and Music by W. L. Idema; Maghiel van Crevel; Tian Yuan Tan (Editor); Michel Hockx (Editor)
ISBN: 9789004179066
Publication Date: 2009-11-27
Sound Tracks : popular music, identity, and place by John Connell; Chris Gibson
ISBN: 0415170281
Publication Date: 2002-11-08
Struggling to Define a Nation : : American music and the twentieth century by Charles Hiroshi Garrett
ISBN: 9780520942820
Publication Date: 2008-10-12
China's New Voices : popular music, ethnicity, gender, and politics by Nimrod Baranovitch
ISBN: 0520234499
Publication Date: 2003-08-01

Key Music Reference Books

Music in the Social and Behavioral Sciences: An Encyclopedia
Examines music from social, psychological and political perspectives. Includes entries on Identity and Gender.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
Comprehensive resource on world music, with in-depth coverage of regions, musical genres and practices, and the cultural context of the music of each region.
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World
History Reference Online
Great resource for full-text reference sources in the field of U.S. history.

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Search encyclopedia entries on all aspects of music, including composers, performers, terminology, musical genres and forms, orchestras, and institutions
Oxford Bibliographies: Music This link opens in a new window
Search peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies in music
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Search ebooks related to topics in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law

Print Books in the DKU Library

The Rey Chow Reader by Rey Chow (As told to); Paul Bowman (Editor)
ISBN: 9780231149945
Publication Date: 2010-07-01
Crossing Borders by Harry I. Chernotsky; Heidi H. Hobbs
ISBN: 9781604269567
Publication Date: 2012-11-01
The Race and Media Reader by Gilbert B. Rodman (Editor)
ISBN: 9780415801584
Publication Date: 2013-11-20
Middle C by William H. Gass
ISBN: 0307701638
Publication Date: 2013-03-12

Selected Social Science E-Books

International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences by James D. Wright (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780080970875
Publication Date: 2015-02-17
Navigating multiple identities: race, gender, culture, nationality, and roles by Ruthellen Josselson and Michele Harway
ISBN: 0199933456
Publication Date: 2012
Nativism and modernity: cultural contestations in China and Taiwan under global capitalism by Lai, Ming-yan
Publication Date: 2008
Chinese Femininities/Chinese Masculinities - A Reader by Susan Brownell; Jeffrey N. Wasserstrom (Editor); Thomas Laqueur (Editor)
ISBN: 0520211030
Publication Date: 2002-01-07
The Gender Ironies of Nationalism: Sexing the Nation by Mayer, Tamar
Publication Date: 1999
A Companion to Gender History by Teresa A. Meade; Merry E. Wiesner-Hanks
ISBN: 1405149604
Publication Date: 2006-06-16