AMES415K: Interethnic Intimacies: Digital Collections Beyond Duke

Gordon W. Prange Collection, University of  Maryland
The most comprehensive archive in the world of Japanese print publications issued during the early years of the Occupation of Japan, 1945-1949.  Subjected to censorship by the Allied Forces, these materials bear censorship markings ranging from check-in and examination dates to deletions, suppression and other changes.  From the Civil Censorship Detachment of SCAP, Prange, the Chief Historian of General MacArthur's staff, arranged to have the collection sent to Maryland. A collection of children's books has been fully digitized, as have selected still images and historical manuscripts.

• Korean War Historical Images 
  a Flicker site of images from the Korean War. Credit Department of Defense and photographer (see attached captions.)
• East Asian Image Collections at Lafayette College
  an open-access archive of digitized photographs, negatives, postcards, and slides of imperial Japan (1868-1945), its Asian empire (1895-1945) and occupied Japan (1947-52). Images of Taiwan 台湾, Japan 日本, China 中国, Korea 朝鮮, Manchuria 満洲国, andIndonesia are included. The Collection is built around a core of visual materials donated to Skillman Library Special Collections by the family of Gerald and Rella Warner. Images unique to this collection include the Warners' unpublished slides and negatives, made from snapshots taken during their years of US State Department service in Asia (1932-1952). Rare materials include prewar picture postcards, high-quality commercial prints, and colonial era picture books. 
• DPLA: Digital Public Library of America http://dp.la
  The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. 
  
• Europeana 1914-1918: http://www.europeana1914-1918.eu/en
  The New Zealand resources, American sources, and Australian sources all have materials beyond WWI
• AGSL Digital Photo Archive about 3,500 images from the American Geographical Society (AGS) Library. Photographers include Harrison Forman(1904-1978), Bert A. Krawczyk, Clarence W. Sorensen andMary Jo Read, etc.
• Shashin Shuho
  Helpful hints: To find images, go to 参考資料室　and scroll down through each issue. You need to install DJVU viewer to access images.
  This weekly photographic magazine was published from 1938 to 1945 by the information section of the Japanese cabinet. It is a good source for information on advertising, Daily Life, the Tokyo Olympics, and well-known people. This site includes 351 of the total 370 issues published. Includes images from the Mantetsu railway company, sponsoring government savings bonds and so forth.
• 20th Century Photographs from the Peabody Museum
    Late nineteenth-early twentieth century photographs from around the world. Go to collections online and search.
• Visualizing Japan

  Created by John Dower at MIT, Visualizing Culture uses Japan since the mid-19th century as a case study for gaining new perspectives on "cultures" in the broadest since - the "cultures," for example, of Westernization, modernization, changing modes of technology and mass communication, imperialism, nationalism, militarism, racism, commercialization and consumerism, etc. It begins with the black ships of Commodore Perry and ends with pictures by A-bomb survivors.

Japanese Visual Resources  --- search by format (e.g. photography), subject, location/region (e.g. Okinawa) and/or historical period.  Relevant subjects include Allied Occupation, Atomic bomb,  colonialism, North Manchurian railroad, Okakura Tenshin.  Many of the sites listed above are included but this is a comprehensive index.