LibGuides: AMES415K: Interethnic Intimacies: Getting Started

Hello!

This course guide lists selected library resources that might be useful to you in researching your projects for this course. There's lots more where this came from! If you don't find what you need here please contact us or one of our subject specialists.

Key Journals

Asia-Pacific Journal: Japan Focus
In-depth critical analysis of the forces shaping the Asia-Pacific . . . and the world. The Asia-Pacific Journal seeks to illuminate the geopolitics, economics, history, society, culture, international relations and forces for change in the modern and contemporary Asia-Pacific.
Asian Survey
Comprehensive retrospective of contemporary international relations within South, Southeast, and East Asian nations.
Critical Asian Studies
Born out of the crisis of the Indochina Wars as an attempt to analyze U.S. policy in cold war Asia.
Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies
Primary focuses on premodern history and literature.
Journal of Asian Studies
The professional journal for the field.
Positions: East Asia cultures critique.
Seeks to place cultural critique at the center of historical and theoretical practice by accounting for positions as places, contexts, power relations, and links between knowledge and knowers as actors in existing social institutions.
More journals

East Asian Studies Librarians at Duke University

     Kristina Troost                   Luo Zhou                          Miree Ku
          Japan                                China                                Korea

General Interdisicplinary Databases

This list includes: an index of book chapters and journals on Asian Studies (BAS), several full-text indexes not limited to Asia (Academic One File - Proquest), two full-text periodical databases that complement each other (JSTOR does not include recent issues, while Project Muse does not have the backfile) and two sources about dissertations.

Bibliography of Asian Studies
The core database for East, South and Southeast Asian Studies. Coverage of many important journals, particularly ones published in Asia, which are not indexed anywhere else from 1971 on.
Academic Search Complete
11,000 journals with full-text articles
British Humanities Index
BHI is a current awareness tool that provides abstracts from over 400 daily newspapers, weekly magazines and academic journals of international standing
Periodicals Index Online
Indexes thousands of selected periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.
ProQuest
Provides access to an extensive collection of journals, newspapers, and magazines. ProQuest includes several databases that may be searched together or individually.
JSTOR
A database of archived issues of academic journals. Articles are available as scanned versions of journal pages and typically appear 3-5 years after publication. For more recent articles, see Project Muse or the journal titles themselves.
Project Muse
A database of e-journals covering the arts and humanities, social science, and mathematics. The journals are published by university presses.
Dissertations & theses: full text.
Provides abstracts for dissertations (July 1980-present); abstracts for master's theses (1988-present); and citations for dissertations dating from 1637. Includes over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
Dissertation Reviews
Features overviews of recently defended, unpublished doctoral dissertations (with a current focus on Chinese History, Japan Studies, and Korean Studies – but with many more disciplines joining soon). The goal is to offer readers a glimpse of each discipline’s immediate present by focusing on the window of time between dissertation defense and first book publication.

Document Delivery/Interlibrary Loan

Need an article from a journal we don't subscribe to? Don't give up hope--use Document Delivery/Interlibrary loan! We will find a library that has the material you need and request a scanned copy and email it to you. Create an account today!