LibGuides: GLHLTH 637K: Population & Environmental Dynamics Influencing Health: Finding Articles

Google Scholar Tips

Note: Click on to expand to full screen. Advance slides forward and backward with arrows.

How do I get to Google Scholar? http://scholar.google.com/

Literature Reviews

What is a literature review? For some ideas look at the following guides:

Review of the literature
by the University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Centre 2004

The literature review: a few tips
By Dena Taylor, University of Toronto 2004

Writing Literature reviews (Monash University)

Deakin University Study Skills: Reviewing the Literature
A very thorough guide to writing a literature review

Essential Databases

Web of Science (ISI)
Use this resource to find highly cited authors and scholarly works, as well as track journal impact factors.

Use the following databases to find information in the field of global health. If you need assistance or can't find what you're looking for, Ask a Librarian!

Click the to get in to the database & search for full text.

Global Health and Global Health Archive
Provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety, hygiene and more. Contains particular strengths in the areas of tropical medicine, infectious diseases, vector control, food safety and epidemiology.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's search engine for the MEDLINE database. Containing over 19 million citations, PubMed is the premier resource for the biomedical journal literature.

Scopus
Provides access to major peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals. Good coverage of fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

More Databases

African Index Medicus (AIM)
A joint initiative between the World Health Organisation (WHO) and the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA) to store regionally-generated biomedical information.

If you're not finding what you're looking for in the above databases, here are some other relevant databases:

Index Medicus for the Eastern Mediterranean Region
indexes the health and biomedical journals published in the Region since 1984.
Latin American and Caribbean Center on Health Sciences Information (LILACS)
A cooperative database of the VHL network that covers the health sciences literature published in the countries of Latin America and the Caribbean since 1982.
NIH RePORTER
Information about projects funded by NIH grants; includes links to publications by and about the project.
PsycInfo
Basic index to psychological literature.
Agricola
Includes literature on food and nutrition.
SocIndex with Full Text
Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines. It features more than 2,066,400 records;and extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers.
Political Science Complete
Covers public policy, government, and political science.

GLHLTH 637K: Population & Environmental Dynamics Influencing Health: Finding Articles

Google Scholar Tips

Literature Reviews

Essential Databases

More Databases

Contact Us

Services for...