LibGuides: GLHLTH 371K: Research Methods in Global Health: Find Articles

Understanding Article Types

You may need to consult various databases depending on the topic and type of information you are seeking.

Here are some common article types used in global health research:

Primary research articles
Review articles
Systematic reviews
News
Grey literature

Article Types
1-page description of article types used in global health research.

Duke MCL Guide on Systematic Reviews

Literature Reviews

What is a literature review? For some ideas look at the following guides:

Review of the literature
by the University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Centre 2004

The literature review: a few tips
By Dena Taylor, University of Toronto 2004

Writing Literature reviews (Monash University)

Keeping Current with RSS or Email Alerts

Most databases will let you create RSS feeds or email alerts to track new publications based on a particular journal or keyword that you would like to follow. Ask a librarian, if you need help!

PubMed NCBI Account
Create an NCBI account to track your searches and citations in PubMed.

Finding Specific Articles, Journals, and Databases

Click here to go to the Duke Kunshan Library homepage

Article Databases for Global Health

Web of Science
Provides access to interdisciplinary research articles. Choose 'ALL DATABASES' to include search of MEDLINE. Allows you to trace the scholarship of an article using cited reference searching.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in biomedicine. Citations are from MEDLINE and other medical and life science journals

Become a PubMed power user by viewing the PubMed Tutorial.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Search peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.

Google Scholar
A search engine for scholarly materials. Good for initial searching and grey literature. Lacks advanced features and quality control. Add DUKE UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES under SETTINGS > LIBRARY LINKS to get links to the full text in your GS results.

View a Scopus vs. Web of Science vs. Google Scholar comparison.

Global Health Database
Provides access to interdisciplinary research articles in global health. Includes unique materials (grey lit) not included in Pubmed, Web of Science, or Scopus.

AGRICOLA: Online Public Access Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search for article abstracts from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. This is an open access database.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Search nursing and allied health literature dating back to the 1980s
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Search for systematic reviews of primary research in human health care and health policy
Embase This link opens in a new window
Search abstracts from EMBASE (1974-present) and Medline (1966-present)
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Searches for journal articles and books in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, and energy
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Search articles, government documents, and grey literature related to international politics and public policy
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in political science and public policy
PsycInfo (APA) This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology
Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in the field of sociology

African Index Medicus
A joint initiative between the World Health Organisation (WHO) and the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA) to store regionally-generated biomedical information.
Index Medicus for the Eastern Mediterranean Region
Indexes the health and biomedical journals published in the Region since 1984.

LILACS This link opens in a new window
Search for Latin American and Caribbean literature in the health sciences from 1982 to the present.
SciELO Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for articles published in open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. This is an open access database.

Global Health Frontline News High-quality news coverage of under-reported stories on a wide range of global health issues.
Global Health Hub
Global Health Now Global Health News from the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
Global Health Policy Blog Research and policy analysis news.
Kaiser Daily Global Health Policy Report Real-time reporting of news and events related to global health and policy worldwide.
Lancet Global Health Collection Articles, comments, seminars and Reviews focusing on health in low-income and middle-income countries.
Nature News
NPR Global Health Audio and news stories about Global Health.
Science News