AMES 415S: Interethnic Intimacies: Getting Started

The core database for East, South and Southeast Asian Studies. Coverage of many important journals, particularly ones published in Asia, which are not indexed anywhere else from 1971 on.

BHI is a current awareness tool that provides abstracts from over 400 daily newspapers, weekly magazines and academic journals of international standing

Indexes thousands of selected periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.

Provides access to an extensive collection of journals, newspapers, and magazines. ProQuest includes several databases that may be searched together or individually.

A database of archived issues of academic journals. Articles are available as scanned versions of journal pages and typically appear 3-5 years after publication. For more recent articles, see Project Muse or the journal titles themselves.

A database of e-journals covering the arts and humanities, social science, and mathematics. The journals are published by university presses.

Provides abstracts for dissertations (July 1980-present); abstracts for master's theses (1988-present); and citations for dissertations dating from 1637. Includes over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.

Features overviews of recently defended, unpublished doctoral dissertations (with a current focus on Chinese History, Japan Studies, and Korean Studies – but with many more disciplines joining soon). The goal is to offer readers a glimpse of each discipline’s immediate present by focusing on the window of time between dissertation defense and first book publication.

In-depth critical analysis of the forces shaping the Asia-Pacific . . . and the world. The Asia-Pacific Journal seeks to illuminate the geopolitics, economics, history, society, culture, international relations and forces for change in the modern and contemporary Asia-Pacific.

Comprehensive retrospective of contemporary international relations within South, Southeast, and East Asian nations.

Born out of the crisis of the Indochina Wars as an attempt to analyze U.S. policy in cold war Asia.

Primary focuses on premodern history and literature.

The professional journal for the field.

Seeks to place cultural critique at the center of historical and theoretical practice by accounting for positions as places, contexts, power relations, and links between knowledge and knowers as actors in existing social institutions.

The CJKV-E is a standard Chinese character/compound dictionary with a classical emphasis.