AMES 415S: Interethnic Intimacies: Primary Source Databases

Chinese Studies Primary Sources

Japanese Studes Primary Sources

Korean Studies Primary Sources

Newspapers: 

Newspapers - Asia

Korean Newspaper Archives

Sidney Gamble Photographs: 1917-1932, nearly 5000 images of China, Korea, Japan, Hawaii, San Francisco, and Russia.

Sidney D. Gamble (1890-1968), an avid amateur photographer, first went to China with his family in 1908.  He returned three more times between 1917 and 1932 and continued photographing the daily life of Chinese citizens.  A sociologist and renowned China scholar, he traveled throughout the country to collect data for social-economic surveys and to photograph urban and rural life, public events, architecture, religious statuary, and the countryside.

Friedrich Carl Peetz photographs: 127 black-and-white ambrotypes (several are hand tinted; most are 4.5 x 6 in.) mounted on 22 boards in a photograph album. The album probably belonged to Friedrich Carl Peetz, most likely an officer in the German Navy (Kaiserliche Marine) and crew member of the S.M.S. Hertha during the Boxer Rebellion. The images were mostly taken in Tsingtao (Qingdao), Chefoo (Yantai), Hong Kong, Peking (Beijing), and Shanhaiguan during the Boxer Rebellion in 1900. 

Colonial Korean Postcard Collection, 1900-1945
The Colonial Korean Postcard Collection is an archive of about 9000 digitized postcards of Korea from 1900 to 1945, most of which document the Colonial Period (1910-1945). During the colonial period, postcards of Korea were printed by various Japanese organizations and portrayed ancient historical sites, natural landmarks, people in traditional or modern settings, rural Korean villages and modern urban spaces, and Korean customs, etc.

China:

• China: Culture and Society 1750-1929 : the Wason Pamphlet Collection, Cornell University
  Rare pamphlets collection on East Asia plus secondary resources like essays, an interactive chronology and mini guides.
• China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980 (English)
  Original source materials on the activities and observations of British and American diplomats, missionaries, business people and tourists in China, plus rare periodicals, color paintings, maps, photographs and drawings.
• Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980 (English)
  From the National Archives, Kew of Britain; full text files adressing developments in China and assessing US, Soviet, British, European and Commonwealth relations with China (including Hong Kong and Taiwan), from 1949 onwards.
• The Amerasia affair, China, and postwar anti-communist fervor
  This collection presents documents from 1945-1973. The Amerasia Affair was the first of the great spy cases of the postwar era. The Amerasia Affair sheds light not only on debate as to who "lost" China, Soviet espionage, McCarthyism, and the loyalty program, but also on the bureaucratic intricacies of anti-communism in Washington.
• Political, economic, and military conditions in China : reports and correspondence of the U.S. Military Intelligence Division, 1918-1941
  This collection reproduces the six principal MID files relating exclusively to China for the period 1918 to 1941 (general conditions, political conditions, economic conditions, army, navy, and aeronautics)
• China, America and the Pacific
  An extensive range of archival material connected to the trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. Manuscript sources, rare printed texts, visual images, objects and maps document this fascinating history.
• The Nixon Years, 1969-1974
  “Top level Anglo-American discussions and briefing papers dominate this project. There is also a wealth of material on social conditions, domestic reforms, trade, culture and the environment.

Japan

• Japan Center for Asian Historical Records アジア歴史資料センタ: (Japanese, Chinese, Korean and English)
  Historical records about modern Japan-Asia relations held by Japanese national institutions.
• Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Japan (English)
  Covers a wide variety of topics ranging from the rise of militarism, to the bombing of Hiroshima and the Occupation.

Korea

• National Archive of Korea 국가기록원
  Provides a searchable database which includes 2.7 million archival sources including documents on the colonial period, audio-visual and photographs, and serials from government and non-government sources. It also holds presidential archives, foreign documents related to Korea, oral histories, etc.
• The History of Korean Independence Movement Online 한국독립운동사정보시스템
  A comprehensive information system which offers online access to materials held in the Independence Hall of Korea. This searchable database provides full texts, images, multimedia, and so on.
• War Memorial of Korea 전쟁기념관
  A database containing a total of 3,130 cases of Korean War and the Vietnam War materials, including information on leading patriots, the two wars and battles, battle sites, monuments, weapons, military relics, military terms, and photographsconcerning the wars and military history.
• Military Resources: Korean War (The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration)
• Propaganda leaflet from 1945-1948 in Korea
  Includes 443 propaganda leaflet distributed from Agusut 15, 1945 through August 15, 1948
• Korean Culture and Histoy in Pictures (1870s-1940s) 사진으로 보는 우리 문화와 역사
  Includes 3,868 photo images of Korean culture and history from the end of Jeoson Dynasty until the liberation from Japanese rule; life, custom, landscape, architure, city, and independence movement, etc. Most of images have Koean/English descrption.
• Korean People in Pictures (1880s-1940s) 우리 민족의 사진첩
  Includes 1,330 photo images of Korean culture and custom from the end of Jeoson Dynasty until the liberation from Japanese rule; Seoul and its landscape, education, the Sino-Japanese War, the Rusia-Japanese War, labor, culture, city, religion, and custom etc