Skip to Main Content
List of Materials
- Edward James Parrish Papers, 1894-1926, Box 2, 13-17 & 21 Japan; Box 7 & 31 Korea
Primarily business and personal correspondence (chiefly 1900-1921) of Parrish and of his wife, Rosa Bryan Parrish. Parrish was connected to the American Tobacco Company. The early papers, including turn-of-the-century photo albums, relate to the Murai family and to Murai Brothers, a Tokyo cigarette manufacturing company of which Parrish was the first vice-president. Also included are photographs of travels in China.
- William Hillman Shockley Photographs, 1897-1922: collection guide, Box 3 Manchuria, Box 7 Korea
The collection contains the prints and negatives of thousands of black and white photographs taken by William Shockley during his travels as a mining engineer in China (including Manchuria), Korea, India, Western Australia, and Russia (including Siberia) between the years of 1897 and 1905, shortly before and during the period of the Boxer Rebellion.
- Picture File, 1600-1979 and undated (bulk 1814-1950), Box 3 Manchuria, Box 5 Japan Today Photographs
Includes Hsinking, which is a Japanese publication documenting the construction of Hsinking during the first five years of the Japanese occupation of Manchuria (Manchukuo) from 1932-1937.
- Illustrations of China and its People. By J. Thomson, F.R.G.S. 1873-74, Vol.1-4: digitized version
A series of two hundred photographs with letterpress descriptive of the places and people represented
- Sidney Gamble photographs, 1906-2007 and undated: finding aids, digital collection Box 26 Lantern Slides
The Sidney D. Gamble collection consists primarily of contact sheets, hand-colored glass slides, 35mm duplicate slides, contact prints, negatives, and other photographic formats documenting Gamble's four visits to China from 1908 to 1932. In total, there are over 5,000 unique images covering 12 provinces and Beijing, Chongqing, Tianjin and Shanghai.
- Carl Mydans photographs, 1935-1968: collection guide Box 1, 2, 3
The collection consists of 66 black and white photographs. The majority of the collection dates from his time working for Life magazine as a war photographer. Mydan's subjects include the Sino-Japanese war beginning in 1941, his time in the Philippines and the battle for Manila, his coverage of the Allies in France and Italy during the liberation of Europe, and his travels with General Douglas MacArthur during MacArthur's return to the Philippines and the subsequent surrender of the Japanese.
- Labor and Porcelain in Japan. By the United States consul-general., Van Buren, Thomas B., 1882
Reprints from Reports from the consuls of the United States with hand-colored albumen prints, published by the U.S. Department of State
- Isaac Leroy Shaver Papers, 1893-1982
Isaac Leroy Shaver (1893-1984) was a Methodist clergyman and missionary to Japan from the 1920s to the 1960s. He spent almost a year in Korea in the late 1930s. The collection includes sermons, correspondence, photographs, printed material and published works related to Shaver's missionary work in Japan and Idaho. The material ranges in date from 1893-1982
- Morris C. McEldowney Military Service in East Asia Photograph Album, 1954-1955, Box 1
- Jeanette Reid Lealy Papers, 1920-1922, Box 1
- Korean War Series, 1950-1953 Folder 1
Fourteen posters extoll the achievements of the Turkish Armed Forces command or Turkish Brigade in the Korean War between November 1950 and July 1953 (from "Turkish political posters collection, 1943-1978 and undated")
- Front, fukkokuban / Front [serial] : 復刻版
Originally published bimonthly by Tōhōsha, between 1942 and 1945, on the Japanese Navy, Manchoukuo, Japanese Army and Navy Air Units, Japanese occupation of China, Manchuria, the Philippines, and special nos. on India and Wartime Tokyo.
- Mary McMillan papers, 1936-1997 and undated. Methodist missionary teacher in Hiroshima, Japan, from just before WWII to about 1990. McMillan died in 1991. Worked in Japan in 1939-1941; during the war worked in Topaz Relocation Center in Topaz, Utah and then was the first Protestant missionary to return to Hiroshima after World War II; taught at a women's college in HIroshima and worked with survivors of the atomic bomb. Active in the peace movement. Diaries are online; there is also a finding aid for her.
- Robert L. Eichelberger Papers, 1728-1998 (bulk 1942-1949) U.S. Army officer. Served in the Siberian Expedition, 1918-1920; during World War II; and commanded the U.S. occupation forces in Japan. On microfilm but also available in the Rubenstein which has an extensive finding aid. Photographs from Siberian expedition available online.
