Dead Sea Scrolls Resources: Electronic/Web Resources, E-Journals, and Reference Sources

Dead Sea Discoveries: A Journal of Current Research on the Scrolls and Related Literature [Electronic Resource]

Dead Sea Discoveries [Print Serial]

Qumran Chronicle [Print Resource]

Revue de Qumrân [Print Resource]

ATLA Religion Database
This database contains bibliographic entries for articles, reviews, essays, and D.Min. dissertations. The database is comprised of Religion Index One: Periodicals 1949-present; Religion Index Two: Multi-author Works, 1960-present; Index to Book Reviews in Religion, 1949-present; Research in Ministry, 1981-present; and Methodist Reviews Index, 1818-1985.

JSTOR
Provides full text for 12 millions academic journal articles covering 75 disciplines. A broad humanities database covering many different approaches.

Academic Search Complete
Provides full text coverage for more than 5,990 general and scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Updated daily.

Dissertations & Theses (PQDT)
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Article Search
A discovery tool that searches Duke University Libraries' digital and print journals, online newspapers, dissertations, and Library Catalog. Search for content from our online journals. 

• The Orion Center

Orion Center: Current Bibliography

The Orion Center Bibliography of the Dead Sea Scrolls and Associated Literature (1995-2000)

• Scrolls from the Dead Sea
• The Essenes and the Dead Sea Scrolls
• Qumran
• ASOR Blog
• The Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Reference Library. Rev.ed. Oxford University Press, 2006.  (Divinity School Library Reference CD-ROM)

Digital Dead Sea Scrolls The Israel Museum's Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Project allows users to examine and explore ancient manuscripts from Second Temple times at a level of detail never before possible.

Dead Sea Scrolls & Qumran Extensive background information on the scrolls together with an inventory of finds by cave, timelines, bibliographies and links to web resources.

Dorot Foundation Dead Sea Scrolls Information and Study Center "The aim of the Center is to introduce visitors to topics related to the Dead Sea Scrolls, Biblical manuscripts, the Second Temple period, archaeological excavations at Qumran." Digital versions of the Aleppo Codex, the great Isaiah Scroll and the Temple Scroll are available. In addition there is a virtual tour of the Shrine of the Book.

The Gnostic Society Library Includes a handful of texts in English translation.

The Leon Levy Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Library "Using the world's most advanced imaging technology, the Digital Library preserves thousands of scroll fragments, including the oldest known copies of biblical texts, now accesible to the public for the first time."

Scrolls from the Dead Sea: The Ancient Library of Qumran and Modern Scholarship(Library of Congress Online Exhibit). Texts in translation and relevant literature

Bibliographies, Indexes, and Concordances

• The Dead Sea Scrolls Concordance by Martin G. Abegg, Jr. with James E. Bowley & Edward M. Cook & in consultation with Emanuel Tov.
• The Orion Center Bibliography of the Dead Sea Scrolls and Associated Literature (2000-2006) by Ruth A. Clements and Nadav Sharon. 
• A guide to the Dead Sea Scrolls and Related Literature by Joseph A. Fitzmyer.
• A Classified Bibliography of the Finds in the Desert of Judah 1958-1969 by B. Jongeling.
• Bibliography of the Dead Sea scrolls, 1948-1957 by William Sanford La Sor
• Graphic Concordance to the Dead Sea Scrolls by James H. Charlesworth with R.E. Whitaker ... [et al.].  Princeton Theological Seminary Dead Sea scrolls project

English Translations

• The Dead Sea scrolls Bible: the oldest known Bible translated for the first time into English by Martin Abegg, Jr., Peter Flint, and Eugene Ulrich.
• The Dead Sea scrolls translated : the Qumran texts in English edited by Florentino García Martínez ; Wilfred G.E. Watson, translator.
• The COMPLETE Dead Sea scrolls in English translated and edited with an introduction by Geza Vermes.
• The Dead Sea scrolls: a new translation by Michael O. Wise, Martin G. Abegg, Jr., and Edward M. Cook.

The Dead Sea Scrolls, their discovery, and their importance for research are fascinating topics that have spawned a decent collection of documentary films etc. Quite a few of these materials rely on interviews with renowned scholars and are a great way to learn more about the scrolls, their history, and current history. Some of the documentaries are not found within the collections at DUL, but can be found at various streaming services like Netflix, Amazon Prime, etc.