Project "Bright Idea": Finding Talent and Giftedness in Children of Diverse Backgrounds: Statistics & Data

U.S. Education Statistics (a guide to locating statistics about U.S. education)

Durham Public Schools Data

Public Schools of North Carolina: Data and Statistics

National Center for Education Statistics

American FactFinder

Google U.S. Government (search to find reports produced by the government)

Need more? Check out the Libraries' Data Services

North Carolina:

Public Schools of North Carolina: Data and Statistics
Statistics compiled by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction.

NC School Report Cards
Statistical profiles of individual North Carolina public and charter schools.

Durham Public Schools Data

North Carolina Community College System: Statistical Reports

National:

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The NCES is the primary federal agency for the collection and analysis of education data. Significant resources include:

• Fast Facts: Quick answers to questions on a variety of education topics.
• Common Core of Data (CCD): A comprehensive, annual, national statistical database of all public elementary and secondary schools and school districts.
• Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System: The primary source for data on colleges, universities, and technical and vocational postsecondary institutions in the United States 
• Education Finance Statistics Center: A compendium of information on all aspects of public school finance.
• NCES Annual Reports: Yearly NCES reports offering general statistical overviews and projections, as well as information on school safety and dropout/completion rates.
• National Assessment of Educational Progress: Also known as 'The Nation's Report Card,' provides results from national ongoing assessment.

National Student Clearinghouse Research Center Research arm of the National Student Clearinghouse; collaborates with higher ed institutions, states, school districts and educational organizations to analyze data and compile reports on nearly all aspects of education

Department of Education Data Express
Created by the U.S. Department of Education, provides state profiles, data explorer, and data table builder.

United States Education Dashboard
Data compiled from state and national data sources to indicate progress toward President Obama's 2020 goal.

College Completion: Who graduates from college, who doesn't and why  Site created by The Chronicle of Higher Education that shows completion rates in American higher education

International:

UNESCO Education Statistics
International education data from the UNESCO Institute for Statistics.

NCES International Activities Program
International data and cross-national comparisons from the NCES.

Data Services at Duke
Duke's data collection, covering a wide range of topics, including K-12 social programs and educational expenditure.

American Factfinder
Census Bureau's primary web source for Census data; also provides links to the American Community Survey and Population Estimates.

SimplyMap
Enables users to quickly and easily create maps and reports using demographic, business and marketing data.

Social Explorer
Provides a detailed view of demographic changes in the United States through the use of interactive maps and data reports. Data are available from 1790 through the present at a variety of geographic levels- including neighborhoods, counties, and states.

Roper Center
Preserves the data from polls conducted by many leading survey research organizations; includes iPOLL (organized at the question level, providing access to questions asked on national public opinion surveys from 1935 to the present) surveys.

U.S. Government Search 
Search to find reports produced by the government.

Google Public Data Explorer
Google Labs site which can compare and animate trends among populations and over time using public data sets.