Skip to main content

Family History and Genealogy : Local Genealogy Resources

Whether you are researching a historical figure for a paper, ordained minister, or the religious history of your own family, this guide will point you in the right direction and provide resources in the Divinity Library for genealogical study

General Guides and Bibliographies

General Guides and Bibliographies

Perkins Library has many general guides and bibliographies for genealogy. The following are especially noteworthy:

Doane, Gilbert and James Bell. Searching for Your Ancestors: The How and Why of Genealogy. 1992. Ref. CS16 .D6 1992

Fitzhugh, Terrick V.H. Dictionary of Genealogy. 5th edition, revised by Susan Lumas. London: A & C Black, 1998. Ref. CS6. F58 1998.
Part 1 of the book, "Guide to Ancestry Research," describes, step by step, the main sources of information and techniques to be used in tracing families back through time. Part 2, the dictionary, contains more than 1,000 entries. The work focuses on genealogical research in England and Wales.

The Handy Book for Genealogists. 10th ed. Logan, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002. Ref. CS47 .H363
The most popular genealogical book ever printed, this work is now in its tenth edition. Sections on each state and the District of Columbia follow a general section on the United States. Each state entry includes a brief history; a list of genealogical archives, libraries, and societies; sources for printed census records and mortality schedules; a list of valuable printed sources; and the availability of county data. The volume includes maps of migration routes in the eastern U.S. and color maps of each state with county boundaries and names, rivers, and lakes.

Hey, David. Oxford Guide to Family History. Oxford, New York: Oxford University Press, 2002. Ref. CS59 .H49 2002.
The first part of this guide includes chapters on the history of names, emigration patterns, and the family and society. The second part is a guide to records. It includes censuses and civil, parish, church, real estate, legal, military, and tax records. All of the information is for England.

Kemp, Thomas J. International Vital Records Handbook. 4th edition. Baltimore, Genealogical Publishing Co. 2000. Ref. CS42.7 .K46 2000.
This work includes instructions and a complete, up-to-date collection of vital records application forms from the nations of the world. Part 1 contains information for each of the fifty states of the U.S.; part 2 is international.

The Library of Congress: A Guide to Genealogical and Historical Research. 1990. Ref. Z1250 .N434 1990

The Library of Congress: Genealogical Research at the Library of Congress. 1997. U.S. Docs. LC 1.2:G 28/997

Szucs, Loretto Dennis and Sandra Hargreaves Luebking. The Source: A Guidebook of American Genealogy. 1997. Ref. CS49 .S65 1997
This publication identifies, locates and interprets all of the basic manuscripts, microforms, and published record groups available for genealogical research between the beginning of the European colonization of America and 1910.

Wright, Raymond S. The Genealogists' Handbook: Modern Methods for Researching Family History. Chicago: American Library Association, 1995. Ref. CS9 .W74 1995.

Online Catalog Searching

Genealogy at Duke Libraries 

Duke Libraries Classic Catalog Search

The following subject headings may be helpful:

To find books about a family, look under the family's last name (for example, "Morrison Family").
To find books about a county, look under the name of the county.
To find books about genealogy for a particular geographic location or specific ethnic group, look under the name of the location plus the word "genealogy" (for example, "North Carolina -- genealogy"; "Afro-Americans -- genealogy").

Other important subject headings include:

Subject 

The following subject headings may be helpful:

To find books about a family, look under the family's last name (for example, "Morrison Family").
To find books about a county, look under the name of the county.
To find books about genealogy for a particular geographic location or specific ethnic group, look under the name of the location plus the word "genealogy" (for example, "North Carolina -- genealogy"; "Afro-Americans -- genealogy").

Other important subject headings include:

SubjectSubject
Cemeteries Obituaries
Church records and registers Peerage
Deeds Probate records
Epitaphs Registers of births, etc.
Genealogy Registers of dead (a sub-heading used after names of battles, armies, etc. for example, "U.S. Army- Registers of dead")
Heraldry Ships - {country} - Passenger lists (e.g., Ships - United States - Passenger lists)
Marriage licenses Wills
Marriage records


Cemeteries Obituaries
Church records and registers Peerage
Deeds Probate records
Epitaphs Registers of births, etc.
Genealogy Registers of dead (a sub-heading used after names of battles, armies, etc. for example, "U.S. Army- Registers of dead")
Heraldry Ships - {country} - Passenger lists (e.g., Ships - United States - Passenger lists)
Marriage licenses Wills
Marriage records

 David M. Rubenstein Rare Book and Manuscript Library 

 

Guides to Geneaology on the Internet

Guides to Genealogy on the Internet

Crowe, Elizabeth Powell. Genealogy Online. NY: McGraw-Hill, 2000.  Ref. CS21 .C67 2000 also online

Kemp, Thomas Jay. Virtual Roots: A Guide to Genealogy and Local History on the World Wide Web. Wilmington, DE: Scholarly Resources, Inc., 1997.  Ref. CS21 .K46 1997  and stacks

Raymond, Stuart A. Family history on the Web: a directory for England and Wales. Bury: Federation of Family History Societies, 2004.  Ref. CS415 .R38 2004

Geneaology Libraries in the Triangle

Genealogy Libraries in the Area

North Carolina State Library  and North Carolina State Archives 
109 East Jones St., Raleigh, NC 27761
(919) 733-7222 [Library] and (919) 733-3952 [Archives]

These repositories hold extensive published materials for genealogical and historical research. Beginners and researchers needing books, periodicals, and census indexes and microfilms to trace families in North Carolina and the states from which and to which they migrated should begin their research in the Library. Also in the building is the North Carolina State Archives Search Room, where researchers can find original or microfilmed records of North Carolina, including North Carolina county records prior to 1925, e.g., wills, deeds, marriages and court and estate records. State records are also available.

Family History Center (Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints)
1050 Airport Rd., Chapel Hill, NC 27514
(919) 967-0988

Available in this Center are the International Genealogical Index, a file of millions of names of deceased individuals from around the world; the Social Security Index, a name index of over 39 million whose deaths were reported to the Social Security Administration from 1962-1993; the Korean and Vietnam Military Index, a file of military personnel who died during these two wars; and Scottish Church Records. Items from the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, the most comprehensive collection of genealogical materials in the world, may be ordered through this branch for use within the building.

Tues.- Thurs. 9:00 am - 2:00 pm and 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Sat. 9:00 am - 2:00 pm
(It is advisable to call ahead to verify hours.)

Family History Center (Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints)
5060 Six Forks Road, Raleigh, NC 27609
( 919) 783-7752

Library holdings as described in entry directly above.

Mon.-Sat 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
Tues.-Thurs. 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
(It is advisable to call ahead to verify hours.)

Olivia Raney Local History Library 
4016 Carya Drive, Raleigh, NC 27610
(919) 250-1196
Email to: oliviaraney@co.wake.nc.us

The library staff will gladly complete brief look-ups of Wake County or North Carolina information for patrons. They can search for a marriage license, death certificate, census entry, obituary, etc . They cannot conduct extensive research. Be sure to include a mailing address & phone number in any correspondence.

Mon. & Thurs. 10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Tues. & Wed. 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Sat.10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Subject Guide

Joshua V. Leto's picture
Joshua V. Leto
Contact:
919 660-3549
Subjects:Humanities

Government Documents at Goodson Law Library

North Carolina Geneaological Society

 Alamance Co. Genealogical Society

 Old Darlington District Chapter of the South Carolina Genealogical Society

 Alleghany Historical-Genealogical Society

 Brunswick Co. GenWeb

Camden Co. GenWeb

 Monroe Genealogy of Cafe Fear Valley

 Pitt Co. NC Friends in ResearchGenealogy Pitt Co.

Vance Co. GenWeb

 Preservation North Carolina

Preservation North Carolina, founded in 1939, promotes and protects the buildings and landscapes of our state's diverse heritage. Through its award-winning Endangered Properties Program, Preservation NC acquires endangered historic properties and then finds new owners to rehabilitate them. The organization also cares for several historic stewardship properties in the state. 1077
Web Link Genealogical Society of Davidson County

Forsyth County Genealogical Society

Davie County Historical & Genealogical Society

 Trading Path Association

 Virginia - North Carolina Piedmont Genealogical Society