Skip to main content

Black Church Resources

Resources can be found in both Perkins and the Divinity School Library

Reference Materials

Encyclopedia of American gospel music

The Encyclopedia of American Gospel Musicis the first comprehensive reference to cover all aspects of gospel music in the United States.

African-American good news (gospel) music

Presents biographical sketches and photographs of black gospel singers, composers, and instrumentalists.

Gospel music encyclopedia

Encylopedia of African American Music

Online Resources

Need help choosing a topic? Encyclopedias and reference sources can be helpful for discovering topic ideas and gathering background info.

  • Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online Edit/Delete Quick Stats
    Comprehensive resource on world music, with in-depth coverage of regions, musical genres and practices, and the cultural context of the music of each region. Includes extensive bibilographies as well as audio clips and printed musical examples.
  • Oxford Music Online Edit/Delete Quick Stats
    Collection of core reference works covering all aspects of music, including composers, performers, other persons involved with music, terminology, musical genres and forms, orchestras, institutions, and cities and towns with significant musical traditions. It is international in scope.

Subject Guide

Duke Research Services Librarian's picture
Duke Research Services Librarian
Contact:
Perkins Library
1st Floor Library Services Desk
Email: asklib@duke.edu
919-660-5870
Website / Blog Page