LibGuides: Open Access Resources in Religious & Theological Studies: Open Journals

Finding Free Articles Online

Directory of Open Access Journals (Religion)
A directory of open access journals on topics of religion, and theology.
Global Digital Library on Theology and Ecumenism: Journals
Online digital library of journals, books, and other materials relating to theology, interreligious dialogue, ethics, and ecumenism in World Christianity. Note: you must register for a free account before gaining access to full-text articles.
Google Scholar
Search and preview citations of scholarly literature in Google Scholar. When a free version is available it will be linked alongside the citation. Many articles will not be accessible freely, but may be available through your local library's interlibrary loan service.
Google Theological Journals Search
OAIster
Contains records of digital resources from open-archive collections worldwide.
Review of Biblical Literature
The Review of Biblical Literature (RBL), founded by the Society of Biblical Literature, presents reviews of books in biblical studies and related fields.
Open Access Digital Theological Library
The mission of Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL) is to curate high-quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections.

Indexes to Articles

Index Theologicus
Index of theological articles and essays from over 600 periodicals. Hosted by the University of Tübingen.

NOTE: An index typically lets you search for bibliographic citations on a topic. The full-text of the material is not included in the index.

RAMBI
Selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in Rambi is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages- mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library.

Finding Journals at a Library Near You

Worldcat is a library catalog of books, journals, and materials held worldwide. You can use Worldcat to search for the location of journals by zipcode to find the one nearest you.

TIPS

Your local public library may have an interlibrary loan service for requesting journal articles that are not available locally
If you are an alumni or affiliate of a university, check with the institution to find out about alumni/affiliate library privileges
Library Information for Duke Divinity School Alumni