ICS 489s: Capstone Seminar in International Comparative Studies

Here are links to a few useful e-journals in Perkins Library:

• Dollars & Sense
  Economic news and analysis, reports on economic justice activism, primers on economic topics, and critiques of the mainstream media's coverage of the economy.

• Economic Development and Cultural Change
  Examines the economic and social forces that affect development and the impact of development on culture.

• Feminist Economics
  A general interest economics journal.

• Economy and Society
  A radical interdisciplinary journal of theory and politics that promotes new debates about social thought.

• Rethinking Marxism
  Covers debates about the explanatory power and social consequences of Marxian economic, cultural, and social analysis.

• Review of International Political Economy
  A global and interdisciplinary emphasis on international trade, finance, production and consumption in conjunction with issues of culture, identity, gender and ecology.

• EconLit with Full Text
  Indexes articles in economics, including economic history, economic theory, microeconomics, macroeconomics, finance, production, welfare, inflation, accounting, international trade, consumer finance, political economy, and business credit.

• Political Science Complete
  The place to start for Political Science and Public Policy journal articles.

• PAIS
  Indexes the social sciences with emphasis on contemporary worldwide social, economic and political issues, and public policy.

• Annual Reviews
  Search all of the Annual Reviews or choose a specific discipline by clicking on the "Journals" tab at the top and selecting your subject.

• ABI/Inform Complete
  Scholarly, comprehensive business research from periodicals worldwide.

• Sociological Abstracts
  Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.  Provides abstracts of books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and conference papers.

• GenderWatch
  A full-text collection of over 140 international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's studies and gender issues.

• Historical Abstracts
  Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.

• America: History and Life
  Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present; indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.

• Ethnic Newswatch (1960 to present)
  Contains the full text of articles, editorials, and reviews published in nearly 200 ethnic and minority publications in the US.

• Left Index
  Literature of the left, with emphasis on political, economic, social and cultural scholarship.

• LexisNexis Academic
  Full text access to a wide range of U.S. and international newspapers, radio and television transcripts. Coverage is mainly 1990s-present

• America's Newspapers
  Large collection of titles arranged by state and region. Coverage is largely from the 1990s-present.

• Factiva
  Covers national and international news; search builder identifies sources by country.

Click on Databases from the Libraries homepage. Enter database name or click Find Databases by Subject.

Need help choosing a database?

Click on Get it @ Duke to locate the full-text for articles you find in the databases. Need help using Get it @ Duke? Check out this short tutorial (2 min).

Not available through Duke? Request it from UNC, NC State or NCCU using Search TRLN, or get it from another library using Interlibrary Loan.