LibGuides: Japanese Studies: Periodicals

Online Magazines (Free)

Canada Japan Journal
Electronic journal of contemporary Japanese studies
Foreign Press Center
The FPC was established in October 1976 as an independent, private and non-profit foundation with funds provided by the Japan Newspaper and Editors Association and the Keidanren (Japan Federation of Economic Organizations). It serves as an institution to support members of the foreign press in their work in Japan by helping them to overcome such barriers as differences in customs and language and to get "accurate information, gathered quickly and without waste."
Gaiko Forum
A monthly journal of foreign affairs supported by the Foreign Ministry, it has been published monthly since 1988 in Japanese; beginning in 2000 there is a semi-annual English edition which includes translations of articles previously published in Japanese. This site provides access to the tables of contents and to the full-text of some articles. A comprehensive index to all English issues and tables of content can be found at http://www.toshishuppan.co.jp/gf_eng_new.html.
Japan Echo
Insights and analysis from the media; often consists of several articles on one topic translated from major Japanese journals. Edited by Sumiko Iwao.
Japan Focus Newsletter
Japan Focus presents writings about Japan, Japan in Asia and the world, as well as Japanese and international perspectives on contemporary Japanese politics, economics, society, and culture. It offers translations from Japanese, reprints of important English language texts, and Japan Focus originals. A subscription link to their weekly newsletter is available on the website.
Japan in the World
Independent critical views on Japanese, regional, and global politics, economy, society, and culture, voiced from a transnational civil society perspective. This site is run bySEKAI (The World), a Japanese monthly journal, and ICU Peace Research Institute (ICUPRI).The contents, unless indicated otherwise, are translations of the selected articles, originally published in SEKAI, which are edited or abridged.
Japan Today
News about Japan in English from Tokyo, covering politics, business, crime, sport, new products, technology, Internet, Asia, environment and weather. With analysis and commentary. Includes classified ads.
JIJI Press
Metropolis
Tokyo city guide with movies, art, clubs, bars, TV, Japanese culture, food, cars, tech, new products and Internet, travel, shopping, style and fashion and community. Plus 1000's of classifieds and personals. Former name was Tokyo Classified.
Social Science Japan (Newsletter)
This provides full text of all articles. The newsletter provides concise information on key people, important issues, and recent developments in social science research on Japan. Authors are largely American and Japanese social scientists.
Tokyo Weekender
Tsūshin, Newsletter of the Edwin O. Reischauer Institute of Japanese Studies, Harvard University
Published in English and Japanese. Includes full text of articles plus responses. Series are of particular note include: "From the Directors" "From the Documentation Center," and "Global Japan Studies."

English Language Journals on Japan

Critical Asian Studies
Call Number: Perkins/Bostock Periodicals: B936CA
Publication Date: 2001-present
Formerly Bulletin of Concerned Asian Scholars, 1968-2000
Born out of the crisis of the Indochina Wars as an attempt to analyze U.S. policy in cold war Asia. See here for a discussion of its aims and purposes.

This select list of journals focused on Japanese studies is a good place to start; there are, however, many other journals and magazines which focus on Japan or East Asia. In addition, many scholarly journals, such as Comparative Studies in Society and History or American Anthropologist, have occasional articles dealing with Japan. All of these journals are indexed in the Bibliography of Asian Studies and can usually be found in both general and subject specific databases. Titles marked with * are in JSTOR.

All holdings are complete unless specified.

Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies *
Call Number: Perkins/Bostock Periodicals: H339J
Publication Date: Semi-annual, 1936-present
Harvard-Yenching Institute
Cumulative index 1936-80; every five years thereafter
Primary focus on premodern history and literature. Extended book reviews.
Japan Echo
Call Number: Perkins/Bostock Periodicals: J35EC
Publication Date: 1974-present
Translations of the Japanese press.
Japan Forum
Call Number: Perkins/Bostock Periodicals: J35B
Publication Date: Semi-annual, 1989-present
Published in Britain, provides better coverage of European scholarship than most US based journals. Includes Japanese summaries. Not indexed in MLA but is covered in other databases for literature. Only BAS coverage is comprehensive.
Japan Quarterly
Call Number: Perkins/Bostock Periodicals: J35Q
Publication Date: 1954-2001
Journal was designed to present Japanese views to the English-speaking world. Covered national politics, economics, diplomatic endeavors, social and cultural events in an easily accessible format. Articles often written by scholars in the field. Special features included a chronology of recent events and translations of Japanese literary works.
Japanese Studies
Call Number: Perkins/Bostock Periodicals: J35Z
Publication Date: 3 times per year
Japanese Studies Association of Australia
Publishes scholarly articles on various aspects of Japan. Includes general editions and guest-edited thematic issues on such themes as postwar politics, environmental issues, popular culture, and literature.Provides access to British and Australian scholarship.
The Journal of Asian Studies *
Call Number: Perkins/Bostock Periodicals: F219E
Covers East, South and Southeast Asia. The professional journal for the field. Book Reviews are rather short. Publishes occasional review articles.
The Journal of Japanese Studies *
Call Number: Perkins/Bostock Periodicals: J86SJ
Exceptional book reviews. State of the field articles.
Monumenta Nipponica *
Call Number: Perkins/Bostock Periodicals: DS821.A1 M6
Publication Date: Quarterly, 1938-present
Focus on premodern history and literature in Japan. Mid-length book reviews. Reviews Continental European scholarship on Japan better than any other journal.
positions: east asian cultures critique
Call Number: Perkins/Bostock Periodicals: P855D
Publication Date: Durham, N.C., 1993-present
Seeks to place cultural critique at the center of historical and theoretical practice by accounting for positions as places, contexts, power relations, and links between knowledge and knowers as actors in existing social institutions.
Social Science Japan Journal
Call Number: Perkins/Bostock Periodicals: S678BR
Publication Date: 1998-present
Provides Full text /PDF and Abstracts from its website. Focuses on contemporary Japan. All social science disciplines (economics, law, political science, history, sociology, and anthropology) are represented. It publishes papers that cover Japan in a comparitive perspective and papers that focus on international issues that affect Japan.
U.S.-Japan Women's Journal. English supplement = Nichi-Bei josei janaru
Call Number: Perkins/Bostock Periodicals: U84A
Publication Date: Semi-annual, 1991-present

Japanese Journals by Subject

Art History

Economics and Business / Labor and Social Movements

Political Science

Popular Culture:
Weekly/ Monthly; Men and Women's Magazines; Contemporary Thought, Culture, and Aesthetics; Anime

Religion

Women's Studies

Online Access to Japanese Journals

Links to Japanese kiyo
Mostly tables of contents
Japanese kiyō online

Journal Databases

Bibliography of Asian Studies
Indexes scholarly literature on the humanities and social sciences pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. Use the "Advanced Search".
CiNii
MagazinePlus
Oya Soichi bunko
Journal catalog for Meiji and Taisho periods. On CD-ROM.
JuNii+ Institutional Repositories
Zasshi kiji sakuin