Skip to main content

Rise of Modern Science- Eighteenth to the Twentieth Century: Getting Started

A Guide for John Mathew's History 303

Books not @Duke

Need materials that aren't in the Duke University Libraries' collections? The Document Delivery (formerly Interlibrary Loan Department)  (ILL) will contact other libraries and institutions on your behalf to get the items that you need. It takes just a few minutes to become a registered ILL user. Fill out the Interlibrary Loan Request Form at the ILL page

Want to search for materials not held at Duke?  Try these options:

Catalog of libraries in US, Canada and beyond.

Center for Research Libraries (CRL)
A consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries that acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, etc.   Materials can be borrowed on extended loan via Interlibrary Loan.

Search TRLN Search across the catalogs of Duke, UNC, NCSU and NCCU 

Searching the Online Catalog

The Duke University Libraries catalog is the place to start to identify books, microforms, journals and other resources held in the Libraries' collections.

The Duke University Libraries contain a wealth of primary materials for the researcher in U.S. history. The collections housed in the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library (RBMSCL) should not be overlooked.  One of the collecting strengths of the RBMSCL is in the area of economics.

Be sure to use the facets on the left-hand sidebar.  This will allow you to limit your search by format, language, and location, like Special Collections.

There are also many resources outside of the materials in the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library.  In the collections of the libraries outside of RBMSCL, primary resources take the form of published letters, diaries, and papers.  To identify these resources in the online catalog, look for the subdivisions, correspondence, interviews, sources, diaries and personal narratives. Any of these terms can be used in the keyword search mode; for example, adam smith correspondence.





Your Librarian

Carson Holloway
Librarian for Military History, History of Science and Technology, Britain, Ireland and Commonwealth

Perkins and Lilly Libraries