Photos, Videos, and Other Visual Materials in the University Archives

"Chile: La Lucha Continua" Symposium Poster, undated

The links below will take you to the online finding aids for physical collections containing brochures, posters, illustrations, flyers, postcards, and ephemera related to Duke University student organizations, administrative functions and events, and campus life in general. 

• University Archives Poster Collection, 1935-ongoing: Contains around sixteen hundred illustrated/designed posters, programs, and ephemera related to events, lectures, and peformances on the Duke University campus.

• University Archives Postcard Collection, 1905-ongoing: Contains about five hundred (black/white and color) postcards. Images primarily document buildings on the Duke University and Trinity College campuses.

• University Archives Graphic Collection 1906-2000: Contains a variety of prints, original artworks and reproductions, technical drawings, calendars, postcards, architectural renderings, property plats, and other graphic ephemera related to Duke University.

• Pictorial Works Reference Collection, ca. 1895-ongoing: Contains heavily-illustrated booklets, brochures, and pamphlets about the Trinity College and Duke University campuses.

• Pictorial Calendars Collection, 1945-2001: A collection of monthly calendars, most produced by Duke University, which include photographs of Duke's campus and student activities.

• Christmas Cards Reference Collection, 1940s-ongoing: Contains a variety of Christmas cards sent out by Duke University and its administrators. Many cards feature photography and/or illustrations related to Duke University (e.g. the campus).

Scrapbooks within Collections: Scrapbooks contain clippings, photographs, illustrations, and ephemera pertaining to Duke University student life, athletic events, campus buildings, student organizations, and various social gatherings.

• Duke University Archives Scrapbook Collection, 1916-ongoing  
• News Service Scrapbook Collection, 1916-1944  
• College Organization for General Service Records, 1940 - 1949
• Edmund M. Cameron Records, 1929 - 1972

Collections related to the Duke University Museum and Nasher Museum of Art at Duke University: These collections contains brochures, flyers, exhibition programs, and other printed materials related to exhibitions, events, and development of the Duke University Museum and Nasher Museum of Art at Duke University.

• Duke University Museum of Art Records, 1962 - 2002
• Duke University Museum of Art Reference Collection, 1932 - 2001

The links below will take you to online finding aids and websites for digital collections, exhibitions, and resources containing brochures, posters, illustrations, flyers, postcards, and ephemera related to Duke University student organizations, administrative functions and events, and campus life in general.

Duke Football Programs: This Duke Digital collection of over five hundred full-color football program covers is browseable by title, year, and opponent. 

Duke Yearlook on Flickr: Duke Yearlook is produced by the Duke University Archives to provide alumni and friends of Duke with a virtual yearbook of campus scenes from different campus eras. Photographs can be browsed generally or via topical groups. New images are being added on a regular basis. Here are links to specific collections on the Flickr site that contain designed materials:

• Duke University Brochures
• Posters designed for various concerts, performances, lectures, and events at Duke University 
• Evolution of the Duke Blue Devil over time 
• Postcards of Duke-related imagery

Digital Durham: This online collection contains a selection of digitzed primary sources that help illuminate the economic, social, cultural, and political history of a post-bellum southern community. Contains photographs, maps, correspondence, personal papers, and audio files.