ENV 171/ SOCIOL 172: Food and Energy: Nutrition

Ceremony, cookery, aesthetics all affect our desires in eating, but nutrition is the essential motivation.

Workers at the Perdue Farms Inc. processing plant prepare cleaned and gutted chickens for packaging at the plant in Accomac, Va. (AP Photo/J.Scott Applewhite)

• Health Source Consumer
  Full text for over 150 consumer health journals.

• MEDLINE
  Bibliographic coverage of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

• PubMed
  Provides access to over 15 million citations for the biomedical literature back to 1950.

• Web of Science
  Provides access to Social Sciences Citation Index® (1956-present). Use this database to find highly cited articles and authors.

• CINAHL Complete
  Provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health, including health education, physical therapy, consumer health, and biomedicine.

Bender, D. A. (2009). A dictionary of food and nutrition [electronic resource]. NY: Oxford Univ. Press. 

Bhargava, A. (2008). Food, economics, and health. NY: Oxford University Press. 

Kessler, D. A., 1951-. (2009). The end of overeating: Taking control the insatiable american appetite. NY: Rodale.

Lawrence, F. (2008). Eat your heart out : Why the food business is bad for the planet and your health. NY: Penguin Books. 

Mitigating the nutritional impacts of the global food price crisis: Workshop summary. (2010). Elizabeth Haytmanek and Katherine McClure (Eds.). Washington, D.C.: National Academies Press. 

Poppendieck, J., 1945-. Free for all: Fixing school food in america [electronic resource]. Berkeley: Univ. of California Press. 

Toussaint-Samat, M. (2009). A history of food [electronic resource]. Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell.