Writing 20: Writing History on Film: Articles in Databases

Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present. Also includes citations and links to book and media reviews.

Covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1974, with records for selected major films from 1975-2009. Films can be searched by keyword, film title, cast, crew, character name, subject, genre, release year, and more. Most records include extensive plot summaries.

Indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications (and selected coverage of 300), as well as full text for more than 120 journals, and 100 books. In addition, Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.

Indexes more than 200 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals & a variety of documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry--including dance, film, television, drama, theater, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, and more. This index does not cover books.

Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals to within a few years of current publication (search in Project Muse if you don't find the year you need). Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts.

Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1926. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.

A database of e-journals published by various university presses, including the Duke University Press. Coverage complements JSTOR by including more recent years.