Federal Election Commission
Campaign finance reports and data, laws and regulations, interactive campaign finance maps.
Information and historical data on the electoral college from the U.S. National Archives
Census: Voting and Registration Data
Census Bureau data on registration and voting by demographic and socioeconomic groups. 1964-present.
This guide suggests resources available through Duke Libraries for the academic study of campaigns and elections in the US.
For a few selected free sites on current events, voter education organizations, political blogs etc. see the 2012 Elections tab.
Congressional Quarterly's Guide to U.S. Elections e-book 2010
The electoral process, analysis of specific eras and issues, historical coverage of federal and gubernatorial elections.
Elections A to Z print 2008
Summary of the major parties' conventions, debates, presidents and vice-presidents, members of Congress
The Oxford handbook of American elections and political behavior e-book 2010
Chapters cover research design, political participation; vote choice; presidential and non-presidential elections; issues, interests, and elites as influences on individuals' political behavior.
Encyclopedia of Media and Politics, print 2007
CQ Press Voting and Elections
Includes an encyclopedia, facts & figures, biographies
Political Parties and Elections in the United States: an encyclopedia print, 1991
American political history from colonial times to the Bush administration.
Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics 2000
Covers key issues that face minorities in American politics. Volume I: African and Asian Americans; Volume II: Native and Hispanic Americans.
Appendices include speeches and documents.
Almanac of Federal PACs
print (from 1986)--latest 2009 in Perkins Reference
Who’s giving how much to whom (primarily from 2000 election to present)