Skip to main content

Europe and the US in the 20th Century: Getting Started



Contains more than 40 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings so you can see what libraries hold information you are interested in. .You can think of it as a catalog of library catalogs

Search TRLN

In addition to the Duke Libraries Catalog  you can access the resources of UNC-CH, North Carolina Central U. and NCSU using Search TRLN.  Books can be delivered from the other institutions in a couple of days.

Online Databases

PAIS/ Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Searches Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and PAIS simultaneously.  PAIS indexes the social sciences with emphasis on contemporary worldwide social, economic and political issues, and public policy. Covers journals, books, government publications, and directories.  Worldwide Political Science Abstracts-- Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, public policy, and public administration. Based on content from Political Science Abstracts, and ABC POL SCI.

Historical Abstracts/ America History and Life

Databases of the secondary literature of history from 1954 to the present.

Lexis Nexis Congressional

Includes indexing, abstracting of the CIS/Index to Publications of the U.S. Congress.

Indexes: House & Senate Documents, Reports, Hearings and Prints (1789-present).

Includes full text for:

--Committee Prints (1830-present)

--CRS Reports (1916-present)

--Hearings (1824-present, incomplete)

--House & Senate Documents (selected full text, 1995-present)

--House & Senate Reports (selected full text, 1990-present)

--Bills and Public Laws (1989-present)

U.S. Congressional Serial Set

Search or browse the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Browse by subject, committee, author, publication type, or Congress. Search in citation or fulltext, by publication types, or bill numbers or types. Coverage is 1817 to 1980.  This is a readex product

many US documents, including Foreign Relations of the US, Public Papers of the Presidents, Treaties and Agreements US Reports and others.

Dissertations and Theses Full Text 

Full text of dissertations and theses in all subject areas from around the world. Provides abstracts for dissertations (July 1980-present)



Your Librarian

Carson Holloway
Librarian for Military History, History of Science and Technology, Britain, Ireland and Commonwealth

Perkins and Lilly Libraries