DEMAN– the Duke Entertainment, Media & Arts Network – is a community that supports connections between alumni and students working in and/or interested in creative industries through mentoring, internships, and job opportunities.
Duke Film Across Campus
Cinematic Arts
Cinematic Arts (formerly Arts of the Moving Image) provides centralized coordination among the various Duke University departments and programs that provide classes, activities, and opportunities for students interested in film studies and moving image practice. Cinematic Arts faculty offer film studies courses from a global perspective, while Screen Society, our film exhibition program, makes available a range of historical and new works in a variety of genres and modes, from different national traditions. Cinematic Arts emerged from the Program of Arts of the Moving Image (AMI) to not only include its curriculum, but to also more broadly assimilate film studies across Duke University. Former AMI classes are now part of Art, Art History & Visual Studies, which now includes a major in Visual & Media Studies with a concentration in Cinematic Arts, and a minor in Cinematic Arts.
Screen/Society
A film and video exhibition program for the Triangle community, with an emphasis on screening challenging and thought-provoking work in its original format, whether 35mm, video, or 16mm. Screen/Society advances the academic study of film at Duke. It works with Arts and Sciences Departments to relate film, video, and digital art to other disciplines. Screen/Society emphasizes the historical nature of media technologies and media cultures and brings a transnational and transcultural perspective to the promotion of media literacy. Screen/Society provides an opportunity for departments, programs, and centers to curate film series. These series may be related to courses, research or broad themes of interest. All screenings and events are free and open to the general public!
Masters of Fine Arts in Experimental & Documentary Arts (MFAEDA) has been offered since fall 2011. The Master of Fine Arts in Experimental & Documentary Arts at Duke University brings together two forms of artistic activity — the documentary approach and experimental production in analog, digital, and computational media — in a unique program that will foster collaborations across disciplines and media as it trains sophisticated, creative art practitioners. The philosophy of the program is guided by a belief in the intersection of personal artistic work with interpretive knowledge and of the relevance of the individual documentary/experimental artist within the cultural history and life of communities. A key component to the program is the notion of creative engagement through the arts and the role of the artist in society. Graduates are expected to generate work that has impact both within and outside the academy.
Center for Documentary Studies
The Center for Documentary Studies (CDS) is dedicated to documentary expression and its role in creating a more just society. A nonprofit affiliate of Duke University, CDS teaches, produces, and presents the documentary arts across a full range of media—photography, audio, film, writing, experimental and new media—for students and audiences of all ages. CDS is renowned for innovative undergraduate, graduate, and continuing education classes; the Full Frame Documentary Film Festival; curated exhibitions; international prizes; award-winning books; radio programs and a podcast; and groundbreaking projects.
Full Frame Documentary Film Festival
The Full Frame Documentary Film Festival is an annual international event dedicated to the theatrical exhibition of non-fiction cinema. Each spring Full Frame welcomes filmmakers and film lovers from around the world to historic downtown Durham, North Carolina for a four-day, morning to midnight array of over 100 films as well as discussions, panels, and southern hospitality. Set within a four-block radius, the intimate festival landscape fosters community and conversation between filmmakers, film professionals and the public. The festival is a program of the Center for Documentary Studies and receives support from corporate sponsors, private foundations and individual donors whose generosity provides the foundation that makes the event possible. The Presenting Sponsor of the Festival is Duke University.
Full Frame Archive, Archive of Documentary Arts in Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library
The Full Frame Archive Film Collection contains preservation masters of documentary films that won awards at the Full Frame Documentary Film Festival (formerly known as DoubleTake) between 1998 and 2010, with acquisitions ongoing. Researchers, students and the general public are invited to use the Full Frame Archive. Films may be viewed on DVD use copies in the Special Collections Reading Room in Perkins Library. A complete set of program books from the Full Frame Documentary Film Festival is also available. Educators may arrange on-campus screenings for classes and other groups. Duke faculty may use DVD use copies in the classroom by prior arrangement. The Full Frame Archive regularly co-sponsors public screenings of these films.
