Skip to main content

History 105s Asian Americans and Civil Rights: Identifying Government Resources



Contains more than 40 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings so you can see what libraries hold information you are interested in. .You can think of it as a catalog of library catalogs

Finding Online Government Information

Finding Government Documents

many US documents, including Foreign Relations of the US, Public Papers of the Presidents, Treaties and Agreements US Reports and others.

Lexis Nexis Congressional

Includes indexing, abstracting of the CIS/Index to Publications of the U.S. Congress.

Indexes: House & Senate Documents, Reports, Hearings and Prints (1789-present).

Includes full text for:

--Committee Prints (1830-present)

--CRS Reports (1916-present)

--Hearings (1824-present, incomplete)

--House & Senate Documents (selected full text, 1995-present)

--House & Senate Reports (selected full text, 1990-present)

--Bills and Public Laws (1989-present)

PAIS/ Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Searches Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and PAIS simultaneously.  PAIS indexes the social sciences with emphasis on contemporary worldwide social, economic and political issues, and public policy. Covers journals, books, government publications, and directories.  Worldwide Political Science Abstracts-- Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, public policy, and public administration. Based on content from Political Science Abstracts, and ABC POL SCI.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set

Search or browse the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Browse by subject, committee, author, publication type, or Congress. Search in citation or fulltext, by publication types, or bill numbers or types. Coverage is 1817 to 1980.  This is a readex product.

US Census  Information

Perkins Library Government Documents (2nd Floor) includes printed resources from the Census of population and housing in addition to special refports.  Consult a reference librarian or Kelley or Carson for help.  Many of these resources are represented in the Library catalog but you shouldn't hesitate to ask for help. Much recent Census information is online.

grey ball Overview

American Factfinder
The Census Bureau's primary web source for Census 2000 (and 1990) data.

Books on older data
Schulze, Suzanne. Population Information in Nineteenth Century Census Volumes. Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1983. HA214 .S385 1983
------. Population Information in Twentieth Century Census Volumes: 1900-1940. Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1985. HA214 .S385 1985
------. Population Information in Twentieth Century Census Volumes: 1950-1980. Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1988. HA214 S385 1988

grey ball Other Census related Internet Resources

Your Librarian

Carson Holloway
Librarian for Military History, History of Science and Technology, Britain, Ireland and Commonwealth

Perkins and Lilly Libraries



Mark Thomas

Profile ImageMark Thomas

Contact Info:
233C Perkins Library
919-660-5957 (fax)
Send Email

Economics, Geology, Geography, GIS, Maps, US Govt. Documents