Student Activism at Duke University

This collection chronicles Duke's integration, as well as the history of African Americans at the university. This documentation touches on African-American student life and activism; the creation of the Black Student Alliance; the development of a Black Studies Program; and the history of Duke's annual Martin Luther King, Jr., Day commemorations.

This collection provides documentation about campus environmental groups, as well as on campus discussions about environmental issues.

This is the predecessor to today's Center for Multicultural Affairs. The Unity through Diversity reports in this collection detail campus activism and awareness-raising by cultural groups like the Asian Student Association, the Black Student Alliance, and the Native American Student Alliance.

This collection contains newspaper clippings, flyers, publicly-distributed memoranda, and other documentation pertaining to the organization and unionization of Duke’s non-academic employees. Several folders contain documentation about student efforts on behalf of unionization activities or campus/hospital employees.

Several folders in this collection document social activism or community outreach by Duke's student religious groups.

This collection contains materials pertaining to student movements and protests at Duke University. Major topics include: civil rights, human rights, the Vietnam War, and corporate divestiture of South Africa.

This collection contains subject files--containing clippings, flyers, and occasionally organizational records--on various undergraduate, graduate, and professional student organizations. (Fraternities, sororities, affiliated religious organizations, student housing groups, or groups only associated with Trinity College (to 1924) are not included here).

This collection consists primarily of Duke undergraduate student papers on topics concerning Duke University or Durham. Several papers discuss desegregation, gender at Duke, labor relations, and the 1969 Allen Building Takeover.

Several folders in this collection provide information about university- and student-led service projects in the Durham community.