LibGuides: ARTHIST170: Chinese Buddhist Art: Image Research

Chinese Buddhist Art Images

Our art librarian Lee Sorensen wants me to stress not to use Google Image search because art copyright is so strong, many art sources cannot be online. Lee Sorensen has a wonderful page on Duke's Image Collections in general, please use that page for image related general questions.

Lilly Library's Thomas Reading Room has titles with excellent photoes on Chinese Buddhist art images. In case you never been there, The Thomas Reading room is on the second floor of Lilly Library, please take a tour of that beautiful room and the wonderful titles there.

Selected online image resources

Asian Art Includes associations, exhibitions, articles, and galleries. The exhibition part has Buddhist art image photographes.
American Institute of Indian Studies : has over 125,000 photographs on a broad subjects including sculptures.
Buddhist Art WWW Virtual Library
China (through the Jacques-Edouard Berger Foundation's World Art Treasures)
Himalayan Art: database of images and links to related site
Huntington Archive of Buddhist and Related Art Countries covered in the collection include India, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, China, Japan, Thailand, Indonesia, and Myanmar (Burma). Works range from approximately 2500 B.C.E. to the present, and documentation includes contemporary religious activities in various parts of Asia. Contains predominantly Buddhist material, but also includes Hindu, Jain, Islamic, and other works.
The International Dunhuang Project