Skip to main content

CEE 311 - Architecture: Getting Started

Resource for both Architectural History and Practising Architecture students - Chris Brasier CEE 311

Rubenstein Riches

Rubenstein (special collections) Library has rare and unusual historic books on architecture.

The builder's guide. A practical treatise on Grecian and Roman architecture (1846)

Cours d'architecture  (Blondel, 1771-1774)

Media

Streaming Videos (Docuseek2) - particular strength in architectural videos and interviews with architects.

Beginnings - Reference Sources

Oxford Reference Online - Art and Architecture
- variety of Oxford University Press online reference titles, many which include architecture (usually artistic and historic aspects).

Oxford Art Online
- Oxford's combined electronic art databases, including the (37-volume) Grove Dictionary of Art and the Encyclopedia of Esthetics

    
Pelican History of Art (series) Lilly Reference [various titles depending on period] Lilly N5300.P38
- the English-language history of art, including architecture.  Great Images. Great for contextualization.

Great Beginnings

Encyclopedia of 20th century architecture. 3 vols 
Lilly Library Reference NA680 .E495 2004
- short but scholarly discussions of buildings (Hysolar Research Institute), bios of architects (Rem Koolhaas), concepts ("Utopian Architecture")

The Greenwood encyclopedia of homes through world history. 2009  6 vols.
Lilly Library stacks and Reference NA7105 .S74 2009
- terms, buildings, countries or regions and their architecture

The Greenwood encyclopedia of homes through American history. 2008 4 vols.
Lilly Library Reference NA7205 .G745 2008
- American focus on all aspects fo domestic architecture

Phaidon Atlas of Contemporary World Architecture
Lilly Referance Atlas Case
- spectacular huge 'atlas-style' book on modern and post-modern architecture.  Includes anxiomatics, color pics, written history, etc.  Great fro scanning.  Basic and thorough.

Subject Guide

Lee Sorensen
Contact:
Box 90727
Lilly Library
LSLILLY@duke.edu
919.660.5994
Website / Blog Page

Engineering Librarian

Profile Image
Melanie A. Sturgeon
IM: mas141@jabber.duke.edu
Contact Info
233 Perkins
919.660.5815
melanie.sturgeon@duke.edu

Fall 2014 Office Hours
Monday 3:00-4:30 FCIEMAS 2602
Tuesday 11:00-12:00 Physics 201

Other times available - Please use "Schedule Appointment"
Send Email