Skip to main content

Genome Revolution FOCUS: Getting Started

This is an overview for the 2011 Genome Revolution Focus Group

Ask Us Now!

Researching Genome through the Library

First, try your topic in Google or Wikipedia!  But don't stop there! These sources may give you hints about relevant words which you will search further- and you may consider the Wikipedia entry but  you won't use in your writeup. There are generally much more reliable sources available to you through the Duke Library Catalog and the Databases whic are accessible from the Duke Libraries Home Page.

next . . .

Try a keyword approach in the Duke Libraries catalog-

examples:  

 gorilla dna
or
gorilla genome
 

 

You will find books which may be relevant for your topic and some of these books will be in print and some online. In some cases printed books may be acceptable since this project is really about the history of genomics but often reliable online sources like articles or online books will be more up to date.

 

For genome and genetics related assignments look for online books especially online reference "books", particularly these titles:

The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science

or

Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics and Bioinformatics

Finding books, recordings, films , journals...

Locate books, films, recordings, journals, and more using the catalog.  Need help requesting an item that is checked out or at LSC?  Check out a short tutorial (1 min).

 

 

Using databases to find articles

Click on Databases from the Libraries homepage. Enter database name (see below for starting points), or click Find Databases by Subject.

Need help choosing a database? Check out this short tutorial (1 min).

Click on Get it @ Duke to locate the full-text for items you find in the databases. Need help using Get it @ Duke? Check out this short tutorial (2 min).

And what is a "scholarly, peer reviewed" article anyway?

Not available through Duke? Request it from UNC, NC State or NCCU using Search TRLN, or get it from another library using Interlibrary Loan.

 

Possible Keyword  examples:

 

    * Bioethics

    * Biomedical engineering

    * Biotechnology

    * Cloning

    * Genetic Engineering - Ethics

    * Genetics

    * Genomics

    * Human Genome Project

    * Medical genetics

    * Molecular biology

    * Transgenic plants and animals

Your Librarian

Carson Holloway
Contact:
Librarian for Military History, History of Science and Technology, Britain, Ireland and Commonwealth



Perkins and Lilly Libraries

919-660-5997

email: carson.holloway@duke.edu