Skip to main content

Economists' Papers Archive: Using the Collection/Contact

Description and list of archival collections, also known as the Economists' Papers Project, related to economics in the Duke University David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library.

Interested in Helping?

To donate materials:

Please contact Sara Seten Berghausen, Associate Curator of Collections.

General information on donating materials to Duke's Rubenstein Library is also available here

To apply for fellowships:

See the information provided by Duke's History of Political Economy Group about applying for fellowships or funding to visit and use the collections.

To help process collections:

Students and volunteers can gain valuable archival experience and subject knowledge by helping to make our collections more accessible.  Please contact Sara Seten Berghausen if you would be interested in a part-time internship or practicum. 

Using the Collections

Most of the collections are open for use, although some are restricted and may require permission from the collection creator to view the materials.  A finding aid providing information about the contents of the collection and outlining any restrictions or conditions of use is available for many collections.  For further information about specific collections and their use, or to discuss visiting Duke to use the collections, contact the Research Services staff of the library.  Those interested in spending time at Duke as a Scholar-in-Residence should contact Professor E. Roy Weintraub. There are, from time to time, limited funds available to young scholars to pay some expenses while using the collections. Please contact Professor Weintraub for details. 

Collecting Policy

Existing Collection Strengths: Personal papers of internationally important economists such as Kenneth Arrow, Carl Menger, Franco Modigliani, Oskar Morgenstern, and Robert Solow.  Topics of strength include game theory, public policy, growth theory and other macroeconomic topics, and Keynesian and post-Keynesian economics. 

Current Collecting Focuses: Personal papers of internationally important economists, especially those working in the fields mentioned above, in welfare economics, and/or in feminist economics; records of significant economic organizations. 

Those interested in donating or suggesting materials to be added to the collection, or in obtaining more information about the economists’ papers at Duke, should contact Sara Seten Berghausen, Associate Curator of Collections.