LibGuides: Iberian Studies: Catalogs & Databases

Online Catalogs

A library catalog is an enumeration of all the resources of a library.

Local Catalogs

Duke Catalog - Click on the "Books & Media" tab. Use the "facets" on the left to limit your search by language, date, etc.
Search TRLN - Search across the catalogs of Duke, UNC, NCSU and NCCU. You can request materials from other Triangle libraries and they will be sent to Duke very quickly. Click the truck icon to make a request.

Catalogs Beyond Duke and the Triangle

WorldCat - Contains resources from thousands of research libraries in the U.S. and other world regions.
Center for Research Libraries - Duke is a member of this consortium. Extended loans are available to the Duke Community.
Biblioteca Nacional de España

Key Online Databases

Articles from Iberia:

Informe académico - Contains the full text of popular magazines, academic journals and selected newspaper articles mostly written in Spanish from the mid-1990s to Present. Search in Spanish.
Literature Resource Center - Provides the full text of biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses for authors of every age, nation, and literary discipline.
ARCA - Journals and magazines from Catalonia which have ceased publication.
Bases de Datos Bibliográficas del CSIC - Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas collection of journals in the humanities and social sciences as well as the physical and biological sciences.
Basque Database - An index about Basque topics including books and articles written or produced after 1994.
Compludocs - Since 3/2012 this is a retrospective tool (i.e., no further entries are being added)
Dialnet - An open access library of Spanish academic journals and theses. It is primarily a database of tables of contents with a limited number of full-text articles available.
RedALyC - Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal
SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online - An open access database of full-text journal articles published in Latin America & Iberia in the physical and social sciences.
Teatro español del siglo de oro - Contains the full text of more than 800 sixteenth- and seventeenth-century plays from Spain
Traces. Bases de Dades de Llengua i Literatura Catalanes - Current journals dedicated to Catalan literature & linguistics

General Databases with Substantial Iberian Content:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles, books, reports and conference proceedings for many subjects
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in the humanities, fine arts, and performance arts
Iter Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Search for journals on all topics in the European Renaissance (1300-1700) and the medieval period (400-1500).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of important scholarly journals representing a range of disciplines.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles, books, and dissertations covering literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and other aspects of literary studies
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Search articles, government documents, and grey literature related to international politics and public policy
Philosopher's Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles and scholarly works related to philosophy
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in political science and public policy
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses, including the Duke University Press
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Search dissertations and theses from colleges and universities around the world from 1743 to present. Full text theses from 1997-present
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Search for international literature in sociology and related social and behavioral sciences disciplines
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from scholarly journals in all areas of research