Asian Barometer (Abs)
"The Asian Barometer (ABS) is an applied research program on public opinion on political values, democracy, and governance around the region. The regional network encompasses research teams from 12 East Asian political systems (Japan, Mongolia, South Koreas, Taiwan, Hong Kong, China, the Philippines, Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia, Singapore, and Indonesia), and 5 South Asian countries (India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and Nepal). Together, this regional survey network covers virtually all major political systems in the region, systems that have experienced different trajectories of regime evolution and are currently at different stages of political transition. The mission and task of each national research team are to administer survey instruments to compile the required micro-level data under a common research framework and research methodology to ensure that the data is reliable and comparable on the issues of citizens’ attitudes and values toward politics, power, reform, and democracy in Asia." - from the website description
Eurobarometer Online Codebook
Hosted by the Central Archive for Empirical Social Research, the Eurobarometer online codebook allows detailed searches of the Eurobarometer series of surveys. Access to the Eurobarometer microdata is available through the ICPSR collection .
2002 Gallup Poll Of The Islamic World
Project involved interviews of 10,000 people in nine predominantly Islamic countries conducted in December 2001and January 2002. Researchers conducted hour-long, in-person interviews in Saudi Arabia, Iran, Pakistan, Indonesia, Turkey, Lebanon, Kuwait, Jordan and Morocco. The project mission was to report the opinions of residents of predominantly Islamic countries to provides benchmark findings that enable Western leaders to gauge how diplomatic policies and cultural influences are affecting Islamic respondents’ views about the West. This collection is restricted to the Duke Community.
International Social Survey Program (Issp)
ISSP access is available through Duke's membership in the ICPSR data archive. - "The International Social Survey Program (ISSP) is an ongoing program of crossnational collaboration. Formed in 1983, the ISSP group develops topical modules dealing with important areas of social science as supplements to regular national surveys. Every survey includes questions about general attitudes toward various social issues such as the legal system, sex, and the economy. Special topics have included the environment, the role of government, social inequality, social support, family and gender issues, work orientation, the impact of religious background, behavior, and beliefs on social and political preferences, and national identity. Participating countries vary for each topical module. The merging of the data into a crossnational dataset is performed by the Zentralarchiv fur Empirische Sozialforschung, University of Cologne. The Zentralarchiv fur Empirische Sozialforschung has also put together a CD version of the International Social Survey studies for 1985-2000 (ICPSR 3881)." -- Description from the ICPSR Study Description
Latinobarometro/Latinobarometer Data Files
The Latinobarómetro is an annual study of public public opinion in eighteen Latin American countries. With the goal of providing a representative survey of Latin American public opinion over time, the Latinobarómetro provides annual measures of attitudes toward democracy, civic culture, economic issues, gender issues, the environment, inequality, social capital, and trade policy. A complete history of the Latinobarómetro is available on from the Latinobarometro Corporation website.
Latin American Public Opinion Project (Lapop) Data Collection
The Latin American Public Opinion Project has produced over sixty surveys analyzing public perceptions of the role of government, political tolerance, citizen participation, and corruption among other issues. The Duke collection includes surveys covering a variety of South American nations. Further information is available on the Data Services LAPOP page.
Polling The Nations
A compilation of the full text of more than 500,000 questions with responses from 15,000 national, state, local and special surveys, conducted by 700 polling organizations in the United States and more than 90 other countries from 1986 through the present. Records are indexed in one of more than 5,000 topics and six search fields--topic, question text, universe, date, polling organization and response categories. Other information provided includes: source name and contact information, sample size, and notes on the sample population.
World Values Survey
"The World Values Surveys was designed to enable a crossnational, crosscultural comparison of values and norms on a wide variety of topics and to monitor changes in values and attitudes across the globe." Data are available from the early eighties to present. - From the ICPSR collection description
