Skip to main content

Middle East & Islamic Studies: Data & Statistics

Noteworthy Site

Climate Change and African Political Stability (CCAPS) Data

CCAPS climate security vulnerability data provides information on four sources of vulnerability: physical exposure to climate-related hazards, population density, household and community resilience, and governance and political violence.

See also: aiddata.org

UN-ESCWA Press Reseases

The United Nations Information Service (UNIS) in Beirut has the dual role of providing information services for the Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (ESCWA) and serving as a United Nations Information Center (UNIC) for the host country, Lebanon. "UN-ESCWA Press Releases" and "Other UN Press Releases" are prepared by UNIS.

Loading

Data Sets & Statistics Publications

Historical Statistics

Alkan, Mehmet Ö.
Tanzimat'tan Cumhuriyet'e modernlesme sürecinde egitim istatistikleri, 1839-1924 = Education statistics in modernization from the Tanzimat to the Republic.
Ankara : T.C. Basbakanlik Devlet Istatistik Enstitüsü, 2000.
Perkins/Bostock Library LA941.7.A2 A55 2000 Check availability @ Duke
Banks, Arthur S., Kenneth A. Wilson.
Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive.
Jerusalem, Israel: Databanks International, 2012.
See here how to access this data set (Duke only).
Behar, Cem.
Osmanli Imparatorlugu'nun ve Türkiye'nin nüfusu, 1500-1927 = The population of the Ottoman Empire and Turkey, 1500-1927 (with a summary in English).
Ankara : T.C. Basbakanlik Devlet Istatistik Enstitüsü, 1996.
Perkins/Bostock Library HB3633.4.A3 B453 1996 Check availability @ Duke
Blechman, Barry.
Middle East Event/Interaction Data, 1949-1969.
Ann Arbor, MI: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research [distributor], 1998.
Get Online Version (Duke only)
Summary: This study contains data on approximately 10,000 events in the Arab-Israeli conflict that occurred between Israel and each of the bordering Arab nations, Egypt, Syria, Jordan, Lebanon, and Iraq, in the period 1949-1969. Interactions are structured into events, and events are coded for actor, target, the 22 action categories of the World Event/Interaction Survey, arena, and reliability. Third parties acting as mediators are also included as targets. See also the related collection, MIDDLE EAST MILITARY EVENT DATA, 1949-1969 (ICPSR 5202).
Hadawi, Sami.
Village statistics, 1945: a classification of land and area ownership in Palestine. With explanatory notes by Sami Hadawi.
Beirut, Palestine Liberation Organization, Research Center, 1970.
Perkins/Bostock Library Reserve HB3659.P3 H25 1970 Check availability @ Duke
Notes: Based on data originally collected by the Dept. of Land Settlement and the Dept. of Statistics, of the Government of Palestine, and published under title: Village statistics 1945. Cf. introd., p. 11-12.
Jaffee Center for Strategic Studies.
The Middle East military balance.
Tel Aviv : Tel Aviv University, 1983-1994.
Perkins/Bostock Library UA853.N4 M5 Check availability @ Duke
Latest: Check availability @ Duke
Joyce, Mary; Rosas, António; Howard, Philip N.
Global Digital Activism Data Set, February 2013.
Ann Arbor, MI: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, 2013.
Online Version at ICPSR (http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/icpsrweb/ICPSR/studies/34625) (Duke only)
Check availability @ Duke
Summary: The Global Digital Activism Data Set (GDADS), released February 2013 by the Digital Activism Research Project (DARP) at the University of Washington in Seattle, features coded cases of online digital activism from 151 countries and dependent territories. Several features from each case of digital activism were documented, including the year and month that online action commenced, the estimated age and country of origin of the initiator(s), the geographic scope of their campaign, and whether the action was online only, or also featured offline activities. Researchers were interested in the number and types of software applications that were used by digital activists. Specifically, information was collected on whether software applications were used to circumvent censorship or evade government surveillance, to transfer money or resources, to aid in co-creation by a collaborative group, or for purposes of networking, mobilization, information sharing, or technical viol! ence (destructive/disruptive hacking). The collection illustrates the overall focus of each case of digital activism by defining the cause advanced or defended by the action, the initiator's diagnosis of the problem and its perceived origin, the identification of the targeted audience that the campaign sought to mobilize, as well as the target whose actions the initiators aimed to influence. Finally, each case of digital activism was evaluated in terms of its success or failure in achieving the initiator’s objectives, and whether any other positive outcomes were apparent.
Karpat, Kemal H.
Ottoman population, 1830-1914 : demographic and social characteristics.
Madison, Wis.: University of Wisconsin Press, 1985.
Perkins/Bostock Library HB3633.4.A3 K37 1985 Check availability @ Duke
Maddison, Angus.
Monitoring the World Economy:  1820-1992.
Paris : Development Centre of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, 1995.
Perkins/Bostock Stacks HC54 .M29 1995 Check availability @ Duke
Maddison, Angus.
The world economy.
Paris, France : Development Centre of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, c2006.
Electronic Resource: Click here Duke only!
Paper: Perkins/Bostock Reference HC21 .M285 2006 Check availability @ Duke
Summary: This publication brings together two reference works by Angus Maddison: The World Economy: A Millennial Perspective, first published in 2001 and The World Economy: Historical Statistics, published in 2003. This new edition contains Statlinks, a service providing access to the underlying data in Excel® format. These two volumes bring together estimates of world GDP for the past 2000 years and provide perspective on the rise and fall of economies historically.
McKarthy, Justin.
The Arab World, Turkey, and the Balkans (1878-1914): A Handbook of Historical Statistics.
Boston: G.K. Hall, 1982.
Perkins/Bostock Reference HA4556 .M53 1982 Check availability @ Duke
Milstein, Jeffrey.
Middle East Time Series Data, 1948-1969.
Ann Arbor, MI: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, 1984
Get an online version (Duke only) Check availability @ Duke
Summary: This study contains mainly economic data and some select sociopolitical data for Middle East nations, Israel, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Saudi Arabia, Syria, and United Arab Emirates, in the period 1948-1969. Data are provided on economic aid, energy consumption for public use, oil production, national income, total exports and imports, development budget, defense spending, cost of arms race, cost of living index, consumer price index, and monetary exchange ratio. Additional variables provide sociopolitical information on population, the strength of democratic institutions in the nations, the number of illegitimate changes of government, the ruling party, the strength of traditional elites, military and bureaucracy elites, and religious and landed elites, political centralization, encounters between government forces and guerilla forces, attacks on civilians, attacks on bases and strategic installations, and political mobilizations.
Mitchell, B.R.
International historical statistics: Africa, Asia and Oceania, 1750-2005. 5th ed.
New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2003.
Perkins/Bostock Reference HA4675 .M552 2007 Check availability @ Duke
Tessler, Mark, et al.
Arab-Barometer: Public Opinion Survey Conducted in Algeria, Morocco, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Palestine, and Yemen, 2006-2007.
Arbor, MI: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research [distributor], 2010-06-08.
Get Online Version (Duke only)
Summary: The Arab-Barometer is a multicountry social survey designed to assess citizen attitudes about public affairs, governance, and social policy in the Arab World, and to identify factors that shape these attitudes and values. In this first round of the Arab-Barometer, respondents in the countries of Jordan, Algeria, Lebanon, Morocco, Kuwait, Yemen, and Palestine were queried regarding (1) economic questions, (2) evaluation of political institutions, political participation, and political attitudes, (3) identity and nationalism, (4) politics and religion, (5) religiosity, and (6) the Arab world and international affairs.
Tessler, Mark.
Carnegie Middle East Governance and Islam Dataset, 1988-2010. ICPSR32302-v1.
Ann Arbor, MI: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research [distributor], 2012-02-15.
Get Online Version (Duke only)
Summary: The Carnegie Middle East Governance and Islam Dataset includes both individual-level and country-level variables. Data on individual-level variables are drawn from 35 surveys carried out in 12 Arab countries, Turkey, and Iran. Taken together, a total of 56,178 men and women were surveyed. Almost all of the surveys involved face-to-face interviews. Most of the surveys were carried out either as the first wave of the Arab Barometer, the third, fourth, and fifth waves of the World Values Survey, or a project on attitudes related to governance carried out by Mark Tessler with funding from the National Science Foundation. The dataset also includes 4 earlier surveys, as well as variables based on 34 time-specific country-level characteristics, for example, Freedom House political freedom ratings; labor force attributes compiled by the World Bank, the United Nations and others; natural resource rents, also complied by the World Bank; ratings on the United Nations Human Development Index; freedom of religion indices developed by the United States State Department; and linguistic, ethnic and religious fractionalization indices compiled in a private research project. Demographic variables include age, sex, education, employment status, marital status, religion, and income.

ICPSR Data Sets of Interest

Statistical Periodicals & Reports

Congressional Information Service.
CIS national statistical compendiums [microfiche].
California, MD: Congressional Information Service
Perkins/Bostock Library Microforms S26 1989-2010 Check availability @ Duke
International population census publications, series II, pre-1945.
Perkins/Bostock Library Microfilm S34 Use the Guide to locate censuses on reels.
Includes: Aden State 1921, 1931; Algeria 1872, 1876, 1881, 1886, 1891, 1896, 1901, 1906, 1911, 1921, 1926, 1931; Egypt 1882, 1897, 1907, 1917, 1927, 1937; Israel 1922, 1931; Libya (see Italy) 1921, 1931, 1936; Morocco 1931, 1936; North Africa (see Spain) 1930, 1940; Tunisia 1906, 1931, 1936; Turkey 1927, 1935, 1940.
 

UN Economic & Social Commission for West Asia (ESCWA)

The United Nation's Economic and Social Commission for West Asia (ESCWA) has an online portal for the region's statistics:

The United Nation's Economic and Social Commission for West Asia (ESCWA) has been publishing statistical compendia and surveys for the region. They are:

United Nations. Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia
Survey of economic and social developments in the ESCWA region. (1985-)
Perkins Public Documents/Maps UN Documents E/ESCWA/DPD/ Latest in Reference U.N.
See also IIS Microfiche 3250-S5
Check availability @ Duke
United Nations. Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia
Bulletin on vital statistics in the ESCWA region. (1998-)
Perkins Public Documents/Maps UN Documents E/ ESCWA/ STAT/ VI*/
Latest in Reference U.N.
See also IIS Microfiche 3250-S18
Check availability @ Duke
United Nations. Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia
Statistical abstract of the region of the Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia.
Perkins Public Documents/Maps UN Documents | E/ESCWA/ SA*/
Latest in Reference U.N.
See also IIS Microfiche 3250-S3
Check availability @ Duke
United Nations. Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia
National accounts studies of the ESCWA region.
Perkins Public Documents/Maps UN Documents E/ ESCWA/ STAT/ NA*/
See also IIS Microfiche 3250-S2
Check availability @ Duke

U.S. Census Data

For the United States, the US Census Bureau enumerated people with Arab ancestry in the 2000 Census:

United States Census Bureau
The Arab Population: 2000 : Census 2000 Brief
http://www.census.gov/prod/2003pubs/c2kbr-23.pdf
United States Census Bureau
We the People of Arab Ancestry in the United States
http://www.census.gov/prod/2005pubs/censr-21.pdf
United States Census Bureau
PCT18. ANCESTRY (TOTAL CATEGORIES TALLIED) FOR PEOPLE WITH ONE OR MORE ANCESTRY CATEGORIES REPORTED (by State)
United States Census Bureau
QT-P13. Ancestry: 2000 (Total United States)

Human Development Reports: Arab States

Regional, national and sub-national Human Development Reports (HDRs) are a reliable source for data on critical human development issues worldwide. Regional HDRs address region-specific human development approaches to human rights, poverty, education, economic reform, HIV/AIDS, and globalization. National HDRs are tools for policy analysis reflecting people's priorities, strengthening national capacities, engaging national partners, identifying inequities and measuring progress. See the following link for a listing of reports on the Arab states (use pull-down menu).