Stereographic cards
Author: Underwood & Underwood.
Title: Stereographic Card Collection: Erwin Office.
Description: An unprocessed collection that includes a box (0.5 lin. ft.) containing a small batch of stereoscopic views of Russo-Japanese war scenes, mostly copyright 1905.
Location: Special Collections Library | Manuscripts | 2nd 72:B
Author: Keystone View Company.
Title: Stereographs, ca. 1892- ca. 1930
Description: Among the 61 items in this unprocessed collection are stereographic scenes of life in Russia at the beginning of the 20th-century. Includes some views demonstrating three-dimensional effect.
Location: Special Collections Library: Manuscripts | 2nd 36:E
Location: Special Collections Library: Manuscripts | 2nd 90:F (One-Folder Coll., Box 5)
Title: Stereographic card collection, 1860-1928
Description: Unprocessed collection containing stereoscope and view cards produced by Keystone View Co., American Novelty Co., and Underwood & Underwood, and others. Cards depict scenes from the American South, Spanish-American War, Palestine in the early 1900s, Italy, World War I, United States domestic life, early 20th century Japan, and other scenes from the U.S. and the world. Includes a comic series.
Title: Picture File, 1600-1979 and undated (bulk 1814-1950).
Author: Duke University. Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library.
Description: The Picture File was created by the Duke University Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library as a vertical file from the 1950s to the 1980s. Images were separated from manuscript collections as well as added individually from other sources. The Picture File is a large and diverse collection of visual materials ranging from the 17th through the 20th centuries. The bulk of the images in the collection date from the early 1800s through the 1950s. Formats represented include black and white photographic prints; cartes de visite, cabinet cards and other albumen prints; tintypes and daguerreotypes; engravings and lithographs; political cartoons; watercolors; sketches; postcards; stereographs; souvenir albums; leaflets; and small broadsides. Organized into four main series: Subjects, Geographic, Socialist Party, and People. Many images of France, Italy, Germany, Japan, China, and some African countries can also be found; a large number of other countries and geographic locations are represented by only a few images. Many political figures and notable personages are portrayed; there are especially significant numbers of images of Eugene Debs, Socialist Party leader. There are some images from both World Wars. Finally, the Picture File is home to collections of many engravings and lithographs produced by the 19th century American companies Currier and Ives, L. Prang and Co., and Kurz and Allison; many of them commemorate military leaders or events.
Postcard Collection
Title: International Postcard Collection, ca. 1900-1982 and undated
Description: Almost all of the 24,500 items (19.00 Linear Feet) in this collection date from 1920 or earlier. Arranged by country and filed in 28 albums. Almost all European countries are represented, and there are many rare postcards from Russia. (96-0135) (7 linear feet). A small group of postcards depicts costumes from around the world. (00-422) (12 linear feet). Box 7 in Accession 96-0135 includes 2 folders: Northern Europe and Central Europe. The first folder contains cards from the Baltic countries (Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania), Poland, and Russia. The Russian cards include scenes of cities throughout the empire, not just European Russia. Although most of the Russian cards depict landscapes and tourist attractions, there are also postcards of Lenin (1), Shevchenko (1), and Nicholas II inspecting the troops (3), as well as Russian and Ukrainian types (3).
Location: Special Collections Library | Manuscripts | 2nd 84:G-H -- Acc. 96/135: Box 7
Title: Postcard collection, ca. 1893-2000s
Description: Amoung the 65,000 items in this collection of international postcards are items related to Russia and Eastern Europe.
Location: Special Collections Library | Manuscripts | 2nd 85:L
Location: Special Collections Library | Library Service Center, Manuscripts (Reading Room only) | Library Service Center
Location: Special Collections Library | Manuscripts | 6th 13:D-14:B
