Skip to main content

Political Science: Getting Started

subject portal

Table of Contents

Use the tabs in this guide or the links below to find recommended sources for Political Science research.

Top Reference Works

CQ Press Political Reference Suite
Online reference books from CQ Press, from the broad (Political Handbook of the World) to the specific (Encyclopedia of Water Politics and Policy in the US).
Includes: Encyclopedia of Political Science from American Political Science Association (APSA), with entries on political theories, concepts, research frameworks, and political practices worldwide.

CQ Electronic Library
All of Duke's Congressional Quarterly subscriptions--journals, databases, and encyclopedias--for analysis of Congressional actions and US political issues. Includes CQ Weekly, CQ Researcher, CQ Almanac, Voting & Elections, CQ Congress Collection, Political Handbook of the World, and more.

Oxford Handbooks Online in Political Science
Essays from the world's leading scholars, with references for further reading; thorough introductions to topics in the discipline.

Praeger Security International
All books and encyclopedias from PSI, full text. Covers international security, defense and foreign policy, strategy, regional security, military history, and terrorism. Weekly commentaries, primary source documents, terrorism chronology.

Sage Reference Online
Many encyclopedias on Politics and International Relations topics
Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods
International Encyclopedia of Political Science

Student Atlas of World Politics
(print, Perkins Reference)
Maps of political boundaries, land use, religions, historical events incl. terrorism, health, global economy, food, energy.

Subject Guide

Stephanie Ford