Skip to main content

LibGuide Templates: Getting Started

Please use these boxes in your LibGuides, as needed. Send Hannah (hannah.rozear@duke.edu) suggestions for additions or changes.

Ask a Librarian

chat loading...

Off Campus Access

Off campus access to research databases and online journals is only available to current Duke students, faculty, and staff.

Most researchers use EZ-Proxy.  Some databases require the use of the VPN.  VPN may also work in cases when EZ-Proxy does not.

Ez-Proxy

  1. Start at the All, CatalogDatabases, or E-Journals page, or follow a  link. 
  2. A pop-up window will ask for your NetID and password.  Once logged in, you will be able to access any library resources online for the rest of your browser session.

VPN

  1. Go to http://portal.duke.edu
  2. Select 'Library Resources Only' as the 'Department' and sign in with your NetID and password.
  3. If this is your first use of the VPN, software will automatically download to your computer.

DKU Chat

chat loading...

Research Toolkit

Catalog: The Duke University Libraries catalog is your source for books, newspapers, journal titles, music and film.

Research Databases: Search for collections of electronic articles in your subject area. 

WorldCat: Search for books, music and videos available for request from libraries around the world. 1.5 billion items and counting!

Google Scholar: Search for articles and legal documents available in the public domain.

Ask A librarian: Got a question? Need help with your research? Ask your friendly librarian! They are your superheroes in disguise.

Citing Sources: Browse online style manuals for citation guidelines, and collect your citations in your own personal database.

Finding Specific Articles, Journals, and Databases

  1. Find the full text of a specific article by using the library's Articles search.
  2. Find specific journals by title (ex. Social Science & Medicine) using the Online Journal Titles page.
  3. Find specific research databases  (ex. Pubmed) using the Research Databases page.

Can't find the article? Request articles that Duke doesn't own using document delivery.