Skip to main content

Black Church Resources

Resources can be found in both Perkins and the Divinity School Library

Reference Resources

 

     
 
Call Number: Ref BR563.N4 M353 2002 in Divinity
Encyclopedia of African American religions- Larry G. Murphy, J. Gordon Melton, and Gary L. Ward
Call Number: Ref BR563.N4 E53 1993 in Divinity and Perkins

The encyclopedia of African and African-American religions Stephen D. Glazier

Call Number: Ref BL2462.5 .E53 2001 in Divinity

Welcome to the Black Church Resources Page

This guide provides resources to support the Black Church Studies program at the Duke Divinity School. 

The Getting Started page provides general search tips, as well as links to online resources, journal titles, and reference works. Subsequent pages are devoted to the general areas of study that comprise the curriculum and focus on African American religious history. They provide primary authors and representative texts for religious traditions in Africa and in the diaspora. 

Finding print resources

Cover Image  Cover Image

Black theology and Black power

A Black theology of liberation

Sexuality and the Black church : a womanist perspective

Sisters in the wilderness : the challenge of womanist God-talk: the challenge of womanist God-talk

The talking book : African Americans and the Bible

African American religious thought : an anthology

Black religion and Black radicalism : an interpretation of the religious history of African Americans

Slave religion : the "invisible institution" in the antebellum South

The links below conduct searches in the Duke's library catalog. The subject terms could also be used to search other library catalogs including WorldCat.

Finding Articles

  • African American newspapers: the 19th century
    Provides the full text of articles from the following newspapers: Freedom's Journal, The Colored American, The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Papers, and The Christian Recorder.
  • African American Song
    Documents the history of African American music by providing streaming audio access to genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives.
  • ATLA Religion Database
    Indexes journals and book essays in religion and theology. Search using "Black theology" or "African American"
  • Black Studies Center
    Black Studies Center brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.
  • Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
    A primary index for Roman Catholic journal articles, essays, book reviews and monographic literature. Search using "Black Theology" or "Afro-Americans."

Subject Guide

Karen Jean Hunt
Contact:
International and Area Studies

Perkins Library

919-660-5930

k.j.hunt@duke.edu
Website / Blog Page