Skip to main content
Search this Guide
Basic Sciences: Recommended Databases
EXPERT TIP: Contact the Biomedical Research Liaison Librarian, Emily Mazure, for help with your research.
PubMed is the premier resource for the biomedical journal literature.
BIOSIS Citation Index
Covers journals, proceedings, books, and reports in the life sciences back to 1926.
Full-text articles from journals and bulletins published by the American Institute of Biological Sciences and other related organizations.
Biomedical and pharmaceutical database covering drug effects, therapies, and evidence based information to help in delivering systematic reviews of the literature. Includes many English and foreign language titles not covered by Medline.
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in psychology
Current Index to Statistics
Index to publications in statistics, probability, and related fields, primarily from 1975 to the present.
The leading database in chemistry. Search for journal articles, patents, chemicals, and reactions. Before starting, create an account (see below).
Create a SciFinder account (first time users)
Create your account on campus, but then feel free to use SciFinder from anywhere. You must use your @duke.edu email address when registering.
Information from a wide range of species, including nomenclature, Reference Sequences, maps, pathways, variations, etc.
Information on genomes including maps, chromosomes, assemblies, and annotations.
Collection of sequences from several sources, including GenBank, Reference Sequence (RefSeq), TPA & PDB.
Collection of sequences including translations from annotated coding regions in GenBank, RefSeq and TPA, as well as records from SwissProt, PIR, PRF, and PDB.
Access to biological systems and their component genes, proteins, and small molecules.
Search unique chemical structures using names, synonyms or keywords. Links to available biological property information are provided for each compound.
Earth & Ocean Science
May 19, 2016 9:34 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
411 Chapel Drive
Durham, NC 27708
Perkins Library Service Desk
Faculty & Instructors
Patrons with Disabilities
Re-use & Attribution
Support the Libraries