This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Asian Art Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
This guide is for beginning scholars on the art of Asia in Western languages.
Last Updated: Jan 17, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/asianart Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Beginnings - Reference Sources



Oxford Art Online

- Dictionary of Art and the Encyclopedia of Esthetics.  Includes Asian topics, history.  Updated periodically.

Oxford Reference Online - Art and Architecture
- group of electronic dictionary sources published by Oxford U Press.  Short definitions but updated coverage of major initiatives and artists.


Encyclopedia of World Art - hardcopy only
- older, but longer essays on art topics and issue  + half of every volume is plates, may in color; nothing after 1958.

Pelican History of Art (series) Lilly Reference Lilly N5300.P38 - includes William Watson's volumes Arts of China After 1620
-

 

Specialized Reference

Keep in mind that specialized Dictionaries can answer many simple art questions.  These are just some examples:

Symbol Dictionaries

A dictionary of Chinese symbols : hidden symbols in Chinese life and thought.
Eberhard, Wolfram, 1909-1989.
New York : Routledge & Kegan Paul, 1986.
 
Lilly Library Reference DS721 .E32613 1986
Perkins Reference DS721 .E32613 1986

Artists Biographical Dictionaries


Modern Chinese artists : a biographical dictionary.  
Berkeley : University of California Press, 2006.
Lilly Library N7348 .S85 2006


Nihon bijutsukan = The art museum of Japan. / 日本美術館 = The art museum of Japan.
Tōkyō : Shōgakkan, 1997.
Lilly Library Reference N7350 .N64 1997
East Asian Reference N7350 .N64 1997

 

Visual Studies Librarian

Profile Image
Lee Sorensen
Contact Info
email: LSLILLY@duke.edu
104 Lilly Library
Box 90727
919 660-5994
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip