These databases are restricted to Duke users except for Chronicling America.
Historical Coverage:
America's Historical Newspapers (1690 to 1922) provides access to scanned images from newspapers from all 50 U.S. states.
19th Century US Newspapers provides access to approximately 500 U.S. newspapers, published between 1800 and 1900.
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century provides the full text of articles from the following newspapers: Freedom's Journal, The Colored American, The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, and The Christian Recorder. Coverage begins in 1827 but varies by title.
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers is a collection of 25 newspapers which document life in the camp
Chronicling America is a joint project of the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities. Currently, you can search and view pages from the newspapers of around 30 states. Coverage is 1836-1922 but varies by title.
Current Coverage:
America's Newspapers is a large collection of titles arranged by state and region. Includes national, regional, state, and local news items written by local newspaper staff. Letters to the editor and editorials are included. Coverage is 1990s-present.
LexisNexis Academic provides full text access to a wide range of U.S. newspapers, radio and television transcripts. Coverage is 1990s-present.
Ethnic Newswatch (1960 to present) contains the full text of articles, editorials, and reviews published in nearly 200 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines, and journals published in the U.S.
Individual Titles:
Proquest Historical Newspapers provides access to scanned images from major U.S. newspapers: Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945); Baltimore Sun (1837-1987); Chicago Tribune (1849-1989); Los Angeles Times (1881-1989); The New York Times (1851-2009); The Wall Street Journal (1889-1995); The Washington Post (1877-1996).
Proquest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers provides access to scanned images from Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002); The Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991); and: The Chicago Defender (1910 - 1975).
