Resource Guide for Academic Mentors for Athletes: Research Support

Did you know that the Duke Libraries have subject experts for each discipline?

Contact them for assistance with multidisciplinary topics.

See also the many subject-specific and course-specific resource guides the librarians have created. 

These guides will give you great suggestions for resources you can use for your research.

Choosing the right database to begin researching your topic (1 min, 5 secs tutorial)

Top databases for humanities/social science research:

• Academic Search Premier (interdisciplinary)
• WorldCat (catalog records from libraries around the world)
• America: History and Life (US and Canadian history)
• Historical Abstracts (world history)
• MLA International Bibliography (literature)
• Literature Online (literature)
• ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Languages and Literatures) (literature)
• PAIS (political science and public policy)
• Sociological Abstracts (sociology)
• Web of Science (interdisciplinary -- great for bibliography mining)

Use the library's subscriptions to hundreds of news sources through our databases and e-journals. This is especially helpful when:

• you need previous articles that are no longer available for free from the web site
• you want to search across multiple sources at once--e.g. The New York Times and The Washington Post are included with other major US papers in LexisNexis Academic
• you want to search across a longer time period than is available on the web site

Strategies:

• Go to e-journals and type the name of the newspaper; or
• Search one of the Newspaper Databases: Browse Dbs by Subject/ Reference/ Newspapers/ world region
• Many include other news sources like wire services, BBC, etc. as well as international sources translated into English

Click on Databases from the Libraries homepage. Enter database name (see below for starting points), or click Find Databases by Subject.

Need help choosing a database? Check out this short tutorial (1 min).

Click on Get it @ Duke to locate the full-text for items you find in the databases. A box will pop up and tell you if the item is available online or in print.

Not available through Duke? Request it from another library using Interlibrary Loan.

Need help using Get it @ Duke? Check out this short tutorial (2 min).