Skip to main content

Spanish 312 - Community-Based Research with Spanish-speakers: Getting Started

Prof. Joan Clifford

Research/Policy Reports On the Internet

Blogs

Latino Family Literacy Project - Group dedicated to creating a literate society

Association for Library Services for Children - Blog on Early Literacy

Think Tanks with Data & Policy Reports  

Achieve - A reform organization that publishes reports & develops tools to help states change policies & practices

American Institute for Research - Search reports using the "SearchAIR box

Center for Applied Linguistics - Offers a resource center with info on literacy

Child & Youth Well-Being Index - Published annually by the Foundation for Child Development

Excelencia in Education - Data-driven analysis of the situation of Latino students

Kids Count Data Center - Contains both State and National data on status of children

National Institute for Early Education Research - Special focus on early childhood education

Pew Hispanic Center - Provides data and monitors trends regarding Latinos in the U.S.

World Bank Education Databank - A comprehensive source for international education data

Find Books

Search in Books & Media to find print and online books, films, music--everything EXCEPT articles (which can be found in databases; online journals and using the ALL search from the library homepage).

Click here for a general search under Books & Media for the term  "Latino literacy".

To expand your search for books beyond the Duke University Libraries, search the catalogs below.

  • Search TRLN Search across the catalogs of Duke, UNC, NCCU, NCSU
  • WorldCat Search catalogs from research libraries worldwide

Click here for books in Spanish on Methodology in the Social Sciences

Click here for books in English on Methodology in the Social Sciences.

Click here for books in English on Methodology in the Medical Sciences.   

Click here for books in English on Methodology in the Humanities.   

Useful Databases

Databases for Journal Articles

TIP: In addition to the specialized databases below, search the general databases that serve multiple disciplines.

Bold type indicates a database that contain SPANISH LANGUAGE CONTENT

  • America: History & Life Contains articles on U.S. History. For world history see Historical Abstracts.
  • Chicano Database Provides citations to the literature written by and about Chicanos (Mexican-Americans) and other Latinos in the United States.
  • ERIC Supplies a clearinghouse of education research supported by U.S. Department of Education; primarily K-12.
  • Education Full Text Contains U.S. and international education research; includes research in higher education.
  • Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) A citation database to articles on Latin America & Hispanics in the U.S.
  • PsycINFO Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in psychology.
  • SocINDEX with Fulltext Offers fulltext articles and comprehensive coverage of sociology.
  • Sociological Abstracts Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
  • PAIS International Indexes the social sciences with emphasis on contemporary worldwide social, economic and political issues, and public policy.
  • PubMed A database of articles in the Medical and Life Sciences.
  • Social Services Abstracts Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
  • Scielo A collection of articles in Spanish from academic journals published in Latin American Countries.

Databases for Newspapers

TIP: In addition to the databases below, search under the Duke databases tab for important individual U.S. titles such as the New York Times and Washington Post in the database ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

  • Alternative Press Index Contains journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals that cover the period of 1969 through 1990.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch Full-text articles from over 300 ethnic and minority newspapers, journals and magazines. Coverage 1959 to present.
  • LexisNexis Academic Provides full text access to U.S. and international newspapers, radio and television transcripts from the 1970s to the present.
  • America's News A collection of important regional newspapers in the U.S.
  • Latin American Newsstand A collection of major newspapers from Latin America.

Subject Guide

Holly Ackerman
Contact:
Room 231, Bostock
Box 90195
Duke University Libraries
Durham, NC 27708
919-6605845