Skip to main content

POLSCI 331/PHIL 246/ECON 361: Prisoner's Dilemma & Distributive Justice: Getting Started

Duke Libraries Portal

The Duke University Libraries site is your portal to all our services and resources.

    Use the Site Search box at the top right to explore

    • Public Documents
    • Data Services
    • Request Forms
    • Research Tools

    Browse databases by subject to zero in on the literature in your discipline.

    Research By Subject to find guides specific to your topic.

    Encyclopedias and Other Reference Sources

    Why consult an encyclopedia or dictionary? Scholarly subject encyclopedias and dictionaries are excellent starting places for researchers just beginning a project. For one, they can provide contextualization for any number of topics. They can also provide helpful key terms that can be employed in other searches. Fortunately, many subject encyclopedias and dictionaries provide bibliographies for all entries. These bibliographies can be invaluable in pointing you to important resources on your topic. 

    The Duke University Libraries have an outstanding collection of dictionaries and encyclopedias, both in print and online. 

     Online Reference Collections

    ABC-CLIO ebook Collection, formerly History Reference Online, is an online collection of hundreds of history reference titles published by ABC-Clio. This is a fantastic resource, which can be browsed by subject categories or full-text searched by keyword. 

     Oxford Reference Online provides access to a selection of reference titles.  The database homepage displays a listing of all the accessible titles. so you can quickly identify the ones that pertain to U.S. history.

    Blackwell Reference Online is an online collection of the well regarded Blackwell companions.  You can browse by subject, search the entire collection, or search within a specific work.

    Selection of Individual Titles


    Your Librarian

    Kelley Lawton
    114 Lilly Library

    Your Librarian

    Carson Holloway
    Librarian for Military History, History of Science and Technology, Britain, Ireland and Commonwealth

    Perkins and Lilly Libraries