Skip to main content

MEXICO CITY: 1890-1950 Prof. Lyneise Williams : Getting Started

General Databases

Useful general databases but mostly in English:

To read more about the contents of any database in the Duke University Libraries, click on the title of the database and then on the "more details" link.


  • Duke Catalog  Use facets on the left to identify subject, publication year, etc.
  • Search TRLN Catalogs of Duke UNC NCSU and NCCU; Books arrive in 2-3 days
  • WorldCat A catalog of thousands of US & foreign libraries.
  • Center for Research Libraries Contains foreign dissertations, newspapers & microfilm sets. Obtain using Duke membership via ILL.
  • Dissertations & Theses  A catalog for full text of US and some foreign dissertations.
  • HathiTrust Contains the digitized collections of partner libraries.
  • The Internet Archive A digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form.

Databases found at Duke not at UNC

The databases below have content exclusively on Latin America. They can be used while you are at the Duke Libraries

Informe - Contains the full text of popular magazines, academic journals and selected newspaper articles in Spanish from the mid-1990s to Present. Search in Spanish.

Prisma - (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) provides full-text to scholarly journals for the interdisciplinary study of Latin America & the Caribbean from the 1970s-Present.

An additional database is devoted to articles on Mexican cinema.

Classic Mexican Cinema - Mexican Cinema, from its beginnings in the late 1890s to its “Golden Age” (1930s to 1960), was consistently the largest and most important of all the Spanish-speaking countries. During its heyday, the Mexican film industry produced an average of one hundred films annually and supplied screen entertainment to both domestic audiences and international markets in Latin America, the United States, and Europe. The database contains magazine articles and graphic art.    

Subject Guide

Holly Ackerman
Room 231, Bostock
Box 90195
Duke University Libraries
Durham, NC 27708