Skip to main content

WR 101 El Norte: Mexican Migration to the U.S.: Getting Started

Primary Sources - Statistics

NOTE: IF YOU NEED ASSISTANCE WITH FINDING STATISTICAL DATA, THERE ARE WALKIN CONSULTATION HOURS AT THE DATA LAB IN ROOM 226 OF PERKINS LIBRARY

Primary Sources - Laws

You can search the Duke catalog for the title of an Act or the number of a Law and we may have copies in our collection of government documents located on the second floor of Perkins Library. However, the easiest way to find an Act or Law or to view a legislative history is to search the databases listed below.

If you want to browse public documents such as Bills, Acts, Laws, Regulations, testimony and other government sources, you could search the Duke Catalog for likely departments and committees such as:

Immigration and Naturalization Service  

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services

United States. Congress. House. Committee on the Judiciary. Subcommittee on Immigration Policy and Enforcement

United States. Congress. Senate. Committee on the Judiciary. Subcommittee on Immigration, Refugees, and Border Security

U.S. Customs and Border Protection

Subject Librarian

For further assistance contact

Holly Ackerman, Ph.D.

Librarian for Latin American, Iberian & Latino Studies

919 660 5845

holly.ackerman@duke.edu

Office Hours

Monday 5:00 - 6:00 PM, Smith Warehouse, Bay 4, Borderworks Lab

Tuesday Noon - 1:30, Smith Warehouse, Bay 4, Haiti Lab

Or, by appointment in Room 231, Bostock Library

Consult additional guides

Finding Journal Articles

In addition to frequently used databases such as JSTOR and Project Muse, try searching

  • Gender Watch
    Full text of over 140 international titles devoted to women's and gender studies
  • Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
    A citation database to articles on Latin America, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexican border, and Hispanics in the U.S. published from 1970 forward. Those articles contained in the database PRISMA have their full-text cross-linked in HAPI.
  • Historical Abstracts
  • PAIS International
    This database provides selective coverage of a wide variety of international and public policy issues from 1915-present. Includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and the web. It covers the The U.S. and Africa, Australia & New Zealand, Canada, Central Asia & the Caucasus, Central & Eastern Europe, East Asia (China, Japan & Korea), Latin America & the Caribbean, Middle East, Russia & the Former Soviet Union, South Asia (India, Pakistan), Southeast Asia & Oceania, and Western Europe.
  • Political Science Complete
    Top-ranked scholarly journals in Political Science and Public Policy, some government documents. Covers comparative politics, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations
  • PRISMA: publicaciones y revistas sociales y humanísticas
    Provides full-text scholarly journals in Spanish, Portuguese & English from the social sciences and humanities for interdisciplinary study of Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    FOR THOSE WHO SPEAK SPANISH THE FOLLOWING DATABASE WILL BE USEFUL

    • Red ALyC
      Full-text articles from more than 160 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published primarily in Latin American, the Caribbean, and Iberia. The articles in RedALyC are also contained in WorldCat.